We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown hotel, clean, nice, modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spui 180, 2511 BW The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
157 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Downtown hotel, clean, nice, modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The exterior of this hotel isn't impressive but I really liked the interior and the effectiveness of the staff. Really nice lobby and effective rooms. Everyhting is modern, clean and it is easy to stay there. The reception staff was very helpful and had no lines. The location is much downtown, close to shops and restaurants and both of the stations. Little further away from World Forum where I had the meetings but that's ok, rather stay in a downtown hotel than close to the conference.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. Hope to see you again in our hotel, in the near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    265
    46
    12
    1
See reviews for
69
187
54
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Havind to spend three days in The Hague while en route, we decided to stay in the Mercure hotel. The hotel is situated in walking distance of the city center. We booked this hotel through booking.com, because of which we received a significantly better rate including breakfast! The hotel staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms are modern, clean and simply decorated. The beds are fine and eveything is fresh and clean.
There is a closed parking next to the entrance of the hotel which is convenient albeit a little bit expensive. The normal cost of this parking is 25 euros per 24 hours, but the hotel gives you a discount of 5 euros. So parking is convenient. The breakfast is absolutely marvelous! I have seen almost every kitchen in the world taken into acount! I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your response. The price should be the same on every site;
we will check our procedures, to offer the best price everywhere.
Looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The rooms are of a fair size with all the amenities you expect. Comfortable bed. Spacious shower with good water pressure. Very clean. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient. Room service was on-time and the food was of good quality. The wifi is free, fast and stable. I appreciated having an empty mini-fridge instead of a stocked minibar, this way I could keep a few things like yogurt and fresh milk. The location is very central, within walking distance of shops, restaurants, etc... I walked there from Den Haag Centraal train station and it took less than 10 mn.

My only criticism of this hotel is that it is rather sterile and dull, it didn't bother me but some people may not like it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Good to see that your stay in our hotel was convenient. Hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you want a reasonably priced hotel in the middle of the Hague, especially for business travel, this is a good hotel to use. It has reasonable meeting rooms and free wifi. The bedrooms are comfortable and not fussy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKnijff, General Manager at Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments. Hope to welcome you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here on a recent business trip as the hotel I've previously used in The Hague was full. the hotel is close to the railway station - less than 10 minutes walk - and I felt safe walking alone along the pedestrianised walkway from the station to the hotel at night. On arrival at the hotel the check-in clerk was extremely friendly and helpful, giving me a free upgrade to a Privilege room "because we are fully booked". The room itself was clean and well appointed. Plus points - large, walk-in shower; safe in room; free water in mini-fridge; warm and cosy; very quiet. Minus points - "double" bed was 2 singles pushed together; room on the small side. Breakfast was good - reasonable selection of foods at a buffet. Suspect it is expensive but was included in my room rate.

Room Tip: My room was facing the street on a high floor and was very quiet - no noise from busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I picked this hotel because it looked like it was near to the train station. As it turned out, it was a bit of a jaunt (there are closer hotels, as I now know), but the three-block walk with luggage was still easily manageable.

It's useful to be that close to the train station in general if you plan to use public transit, since almost all the tram lines and bus lines stop at the train station or in the immediate area.

Den Haag hotels overall seem to be a bit pricier than some other Dutch cities, probably because of the government presence, but given that context the hotel was reasonably priced. The hotel room was a fair size (not large, but fine), well laid out, and clean. The breakfast was excellent, and very extensive. Overall, I was pleased with the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Voorhout
Holiday Inn Express The Hague - Parliament
Hilton The Hague
#2 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Zuidwal
Hotel Novotel Den Haag City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Den Haag City Centre
#26 of 70 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Zuidwal
Suite Novotel The Hague City Centre
NH Den Haag
#9 of 70 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central

Address: Spui 180, 2511 BW The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in The Hague
#6 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
#6 Family Hotel in The Hague
#7 Business Hotel in The Hague
#9 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercure Den Haag Central is located in the lively heart of The Hague, within walking distance of several ministeries, the inviting shopping streets and numerous theatres. Schiphol Airport is only 45 km from The Hague. The hotel boasts 159 completely refurbished executive rooms, a cosy bar which also serves meals and a public undercover car park. Our hotel is the right address to make your meeting a success. Our hotel is 100% non smoking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Venere so you can book your Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure The Hague
Accor The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Den Haag Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.