We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even more romantic than expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkhotel Den Haag

Save Saved
You added Parkhotel Den Haag to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Parkhotel Den Haag
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenstraat 53, 2513 BJ The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Even more romantic than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

All together, this was a great way to spend a romantic weekend in the Hague. To our surprise our room was upgraded to none other than the honeymoon suite complete with roses, prosecco and a giant jacuzzi. The hotel staff is very friendly and the rooms are spotless.

The location is ideal. Within 5 minutes you can enjoy the park, the major shopping area, a choice of fine dining, the cinema and a great whisky bar: Huppel de Pub.

Be aware: Getting here with a car is a bit challenging. It's located on a busy, one-way, shopping street with gates that are lowered after you push an intercom button. The parking place is very tight, but the porter helped guide us in.

I would recommend this hotel for international friends looking for a chic, relaxing place to recover from a long day of sightseeing.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkhotel_DH, Guest Relations Manager at Parkhotel Den Haag, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words.
It is nice to read that you have enjoyed your upgraded room with all the extras.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Management Parkhotel Den Haag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    136
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
30
96
35
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

ParkHotel Den Haag is a lively place that reflects the liberal values of the Netherlands. All products in the hotel are "Fair Trade" and green -- soaps, hand creams and shampoos. The architecture is charming and it is well-located on a lively (but not noisy) street with plenty of unique restaurants and shops. And it is within easy walking distance of the MaritusHuis Museum and the Prince William Gallery. My single room was quite small. While it was well designed, it was more like a dorm room. Sometimes I could hear voices from nearby rooms. Like many Dutch bathrooms, the tub was extremely deep, making it hard to get in and out, especially for a shower. The front desk and staff are very helpful and it upholds the Dutch tradition of cleanliness and good value for the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkhotel_DH, Guest Relations Manager at Parkhotel Den Haag, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

We are a green globe certificated hotel and proud to read that you have notified our green policies!
Our single rooms are the smallest rooms for a budget price.
For your next stay we advise you to try one of our Superior or Executive rooms.
We also have rooms with a seperate shower, please make a note of your preference when making your reservation.
It is nice that you have enjoyed our services and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Management Parkhotel Den Haag

We are looking forward to your next stay with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Three of us shared a large room which was airy and had a very good bathroom. The breakfast buffet was varied and ample. Reception staff helped us with advice about trams etc. We could easily walk to the wonderful Mauritshuis gallery, restaurants etc. Would love to go there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkhotel_DH, Manager at Parkhotel Den Haag, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Ellie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback.
We are very pleased to read your positive comments.

We look forward welcoming you in the hotel again!

Kind regards,

Management Parkhotel Den Haag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is at the heart of dan haag's centre. That's the main advantage. But it's old and they've placed us in a room at the back without offering any assistance to take our luggage up the stairs. The room is also small and it's hard to stay in it for more than 2 days. The bed is horrible and the service wasn't brilliant. When we complained about the noise the AC is making, the receptionist simply said that she couldn't do anything about it. That's not proper service.

Room Tip: Make sure you're on the elevator side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkhotel_DH, Manager at Parkhotel Den Haag, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.
We are very sorry to read it though.
That is not what we are standing for.
We are always pleased to help out our guests, with luggage, or with discrepancies in the room, so we are really surprised that this happened to you.

Could you be so kind to send us an e-mail (info@parkhoteldenhaag.nl) so we can follow up on your complaint?

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Management Parkhotel Den Haag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is in a wonderful location, right in the heart of the city. Lots of little bats and restaurants close by but far enough away for a quite stay!

All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The room had a great view and felt airy and roomy. Very relaxing, with space to work too.

Breakfast was good with lovely views over the park.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkhotel_DH, Manager at Parkhotel Den Haag, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.
We are happy to read your positive comments.

Hopefully you have the chance to visit us again.
We look forward welcoming you back in the hotel!

Kind regards,

Management Parkhotel Den Haag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, the Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Lovely hotel, surprisingly located in a characteristic part of The Hague's city center. Staff is very hospitable and the bar personnel discrete, yet warm and friendly. The rooms are spacious, the beds very comfortable. I especially loved the bathroom. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stay in a more than comfortable location with a service-minded staff (which in our country is the exception, not the rule).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkhotel_DH, Manager at Parkhotel Den Haag, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive comments.
We will pass through your feedback to all the staff, who will be pleased to read this.

Please let us know when you are coming again, so we might be able to block the same room for you.
We look forward welcoming you again in the hotel!

Kind regards,

Management Parkhotel Den Haag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent two weeks here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Hotel located on street with restricted vehicle traffic - recently installed security stanchions prevented all but taxis and local residents from using. Located right behind the gardens of the Royal Palace, this property is surrounded by great shopping, and restaurants.

The hotel has a great, full breakfast buffet that was included in the cost of our room; the only downside for me was no hot cereal.

The hotel also has about a dozen bikes that you can rent. Since my employer provided one to me when I arrived, I did not have to rent one, but was allowed to park my bike in their garage (also availabe to guests who drive a car to the hotel). Since biking in the NL is a primary means of transportation (almost on par with motor vehicles), bike lanes and signage were excellent. In the evenings and weekend I took advantage of this great infrastructure and biked to Scheveningen, Delft, and Leiden.

My specific room was on the third floor and had a balconey onto which I could walk. I found though that if I left the door open, the local pigeons would take this as an invitation to come and visit. And they did! It was not uncommon to find them wandering around the spacious bathroom (seperate tub and shower) checking the place out if I left a door or window open through which they would venture.

Room Tip: If you want fresh air, the higher up you are the better. I was on the 4th floor (US or 3rd floor by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkhotel_DH, Manager at Parkhotel Den Haag, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
It is a real pleasure to read and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay that much.
Great to hear that you rented a bike and explored The Hague and the surrounding cities.

Apologies for the pigeons though. It is not nice to have them in your room. You can always call us for help to get rid of them.

Please let us know when you are coming next time, so we can make sure you will have your hot cereal.

We look forward welcoming you in the hotel again!

Kind regards

Management Parkhotel Den Haag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkhotel Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Den Haag

Address: Molenstraat 53, 2513 BJ The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#11 Romantic Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Den Haag 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkhotel Den Haag was established in 1912. The hotel lies in the heart of the city centre, in the "Hofkwartier area", the "quartier latin" of The Hague. An area full with shops, bars and restaurants. All within walking distance.Embassies, ministries and the Peace Palace are close by.The hotel has 120 rooms, 5 meeting rooms, a lovely private garden and a cosy bar. All double rooms have been renovated in 2010. Wireless internet is free of charge in the entire hotel. So is the coffee and tea in the lobby during the day. In the beautiful Garden Room, with view on the Palace Gardens, is an organic breakfast buffet served every morning. Private (paid) parking is available, though reservations are required. A public parking (Torengarage) is on 2 minutes walking distance of the hotel. Pets are allowed against supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Parkhotel Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Den Haag Hotel The Hague
Parkhotel Den Haag The Hague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkhotel Den Haag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.