We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally very good, but some issues that need improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corona - Hampshire Classic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Corona - Hampshire Classic to your Saves list
Hotel Corona - Hampshire Classic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buitenhof 39-42, 2513 AH The Hague, The Netherlands (Kortenbos)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Generally very good, but some issues that need improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is well located in the centre of The Hague and is close to Parliament, shopping, bars and restaurants. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with good size beds, TVs and wardrobes. The bathrooms are modern and stylish. However, the complimentary toiletries offered are of poor quality when compared to the calibre of the hotel. The breakfast was disappointing, as the kitchen was being remodelled and there was a limited selection of food items on offer. Furthermore, the tables were not cleared in a timely manner which made the breakfast room look quite unsightly.

Other issues are:
- the number of stairs that one has to climb with heavy luggage, as the lift doesn't reach all floors
- the unacceptably high EUR 7.50 tray charge for room service. This is the highest I have ever paid in all my travels.
- the noise from the bar/club in the square that pumps directly into front facing rooms. Choose one at the back!
I would happily recommend this hotel if these issues were resolved.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    70
    18
    5
    9
See reviews for
18
51
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

In the center of the Hague just across the parliament. Perfect location for visiting the city and shopping and well connected to everything from the beach to Central Station and in the walking distance from many good restaurants. Interesting take on breakfast with old style service with individual plates , very pleasing experience. Very tasty, fresh products and juices/smoothies but I would prefer to have available more low carb choices rather than indulging in pastries and everything sweet!

Definitely one of my preferred hotels in The Hague!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Everything about The Corona is sleek and stylish - the furnitre, the public rooms, the bedrooms, and it's right in the heart of The Hague, just 100 metres for the Binnenhof and the Hofvijver (the lake adjacent to the parliament buildings). 200 metres in the other direction and you are on Vlamingstraat - the main shopping street that leads to Grote Markt with lots of restauarants and bars.

The rooms in the Corona are spacious and spotlessly clean. The restaurant provides excellent meals at reasonable prices and the staff are unfailingly polite and friendly. If you are spending time in The Hague, The Corona is the pace to be.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had a most enjoyable stay at this hotel. The check in was efficient and the staff were incredibly helpful and informative.

The location was good on a lovely square in a nice part of the Hague which is a lovely city overall. The hotel is convenient for the Government buildings and the main shopping streets.

My room was spacious and comfortable with a good bed and a fair amount of cupboard and drawer space. I would agree that the trams can be irritating so I'd recommend asking for a room not overlooking the square. The water was hot and I loved the bath. Everything was spotlessly clean.

The restaurant was good and served me excellent steak, well cooked and prepared.

The breakfast was fine, nice fresh juice and good quality of bread. It wasn't the widest range ever but it was good quality and nicely served.

I would stay there again if I could get a good rate on the accommodation. I'd definitely visit the Hague again as I would like to spend more time exploring it rather than being there on business.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel is centrally located, houses of parliament are almost in view, the square in front of it is lively during sunny days and enjoyable to be for its pleasant athmosphere. Then hotel itself is old but has been recently worked, unfortunately having replaced the former wintergarden with a glass house / aquarium like alternative. The interior appeared as not having been taken so seriously but nevertheless, the room was ok, spatious and clean, unfortunately cold. The bathroom as well was spatious and clean but unfortunately, the shower one of those that could not be easily adjusted to the height / ankle intended - simply because it was old and no longer fitting tightly in the attachment. Big surprise was the breakfast - apparently, low season, there was only one other guest having coffee - the breakfeast was the poorest I've seen in ages, and seemed as having been standing around the whole morning. Music in the background, the girl at the bar singing to it, hardly wanting to notice customers looking for a hot drink to go with that choice. Later another lady appeared asking whether we wanted some scabbled eggs - only to disappeare almost immediately - it's all about expectations of course, mine at that place certainly not having been met - especially since this fancy breakfast (service included ; ) cost 20€ - surely, no reason to go back or recommand that place!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel is centrally located at walking distance of the touristic attractions. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The bathroom has been modernized and is OK. Linens are clean and good quality. Beds are not with the best mattresses but still good.
The stair and elevator could use a face lift.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
A negative point is the shrieking noise from the trams turning around the small square in front of the hotel and this from 6 in the morning till 12 at night!
There was no room for our car so we had to park at an expensive public parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crocetta del Montello, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I've been there in August during my holidays.
The staff was always kind and very helpful.
The breakfast was very plenty and tasty.
Comfortable room always clean.
Convenient central location in Den Haag.
Parking: it's not expensive and very close to an embassy, ​​so there is some control.
Price: I took a convenient on-line offer.
Satisfactory experience, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Corona - Hampshire Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona - Hampshire Classic

Address: Buitenhof 39-42, 2513 AH The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Kortenbos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#14 Business Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Corona - Hampshire Classic 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Corona - Hampshire Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Corona Hampshire Classic
Corona Hampshire Classic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Corona - Hampshire Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.