We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and accommodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Corona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Corona to your Saves list
Hotel Corona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buitenhof 39-42, 2513 AH, The Hague, The Netherlands (Kortenbos)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly and accommodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel is in an ideal location the heart of the city on the tram lines and within easy walking distance of the main shopping area and other attractions. The staff is amazingly helpful and accommodating. I thought the breakfast was well-worth the price, as well. There's no doubt that when I return to the Hague, I will stay here.

Room Tip: Some rooms offer a view of the ventilation units. Ask for a room with a better view, if they have o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have recently switched to the Corona as our hotel of choice in the hague and book rooms here often for clients so we expect good service and high quality rooms. So far the service and accommodation has always been very good, and clients and staff have been pleased. The rooms at the front are noisier than the ones at the back. And some rooms can be small. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very central near to the Parliament and many restaurants. Its an ideal location for a short business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The86Robsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have stayed here on average twice a month since the start of 2012 - for one or more nights - and without fail the service and accommodation has always been very good. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very central and offers good value for money. The hotel has been refurbished over the last 9 months but still has the charm of an "independent" hotel. The rooms on the front of the hotel are the best but do get some noise with the windows open from the square onto which the hotel faces.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funandwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Corona is as central as it gets in The Hague, across the square from parliament. Tram 17 takes a few minutes to central station and it's a ten to fifteen minute walk. Shops and restaurants are on the doorstep. Consequently, there can be some street noise.

It is an old building that has been spruced up. The rooms are therefore newly equipped and well designed, but on the small side. Some things appear to have gone wrong in the renovation, with slightly weird effects. The hot and cold taps were switched round. Intriguingly, on being shown to our room, we were told not to touch a certain button on the airconditioning remote control, because otherwise all airco's on the floor would spin out of control. The airco worked fine, but a small part of me still regrets not having tried that button.

Wifi is free. We asked for a baby cot to be ready on arrival and it was.

There are similarly priced hotels nearby with larger rooms (e.g. the Mercure) but the Corona is among the more charming places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeyondBlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was two night reservation for our family vacation in Netherlands. It takes a lot of time to find hotel, which look nice and don't rip the pocket. It isn't cheap at all: 170 euro for 2 night + 50eur for child, but looks like fare enough for the newly renovated hotel.
Location: is fantastic, you can't get something more central. The major touristic sites and shopping alleys are in 2 minutes from it.
Parking: for 20 euro per night you get a corner behind the hotel (4 parking slots) with garbage cans of the hotel and 2 restaurants to keep a company to your car.
Service: The hotel advertises itself as newly renovated. The pictures in booking.com are very nice indeed. But when we arrived to the hotel, we get some very old room not look like the one at the picture at all. We were very disappointed and asked to change and indeed we were invited to see another room... on first floor with the view to our car and all garbage. After arguing we get the promise that tomorrow we will get another room. To the next day we indeed get the room, which appears in the hotel site. What made me smile; it is fact, that at check out they say to us, that the first (very old and dull) room was UPGRADE for us, because it is larger!
Conclusion: Location wins it all (even the ongoing renovation).
Recommendations: "Vapiano" for casual dining and "Taste" for smart evening.
Once again?: I will try to get better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyagerIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed there with friends during our weekend trip to the Hague. The hotel is nicely located in the city center surrounded by numerous eateries, pubs and cafes. The staff was very polite and helpful and responded to our queries immediately. WiFi is included in the price. The only small drawback is lack of small of complimentary bottle of water in the room. It seems to be standard these days. In general I recommend this place as reasonably priced and located.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I haven't stayed at this hotel but have enjoyed several afternoon coffees and cake in the outdoor area on those sadly rare sunny Hague afternoons. Service was fine, maybe a little slow but who cares when the sun is out! Good coffee and the chocolate and traditional apple cake are moist and tasty, especially with a dollop of cream. A great, central spot to while away an hour or so in between other activities including shopping on nearby Noordeinde.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank skippyLuzern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these The Hague hotels
Paleis Hotel
#4 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Hilton The Hague
#2 of 70 in The Hague
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zuidwal
Novotel Suites Den Haag City Centre
Parkhotel Den Haag
#14 of 70 in The Hague
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona

Address: Buitenhof 39-42, 2513 AH, The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague > Kortenbos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
#15 Business Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Corona 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Corona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Corona Hampshire Classic
Corona Hampshire Classic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing