We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spendid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, 2594 AC The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
GreenLeadersGold level
Harnosand, Sweden
1 review
“Spendid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The receptionist was very friendly and asked how I wanted to stay. She offered me to upgrade the room, I did and the room was great!
Thank you very much!
I like this hotel, it has great rooms, a good restaurant and a breakfast who suits me. It is what I need when I visit The Hague

Room Tip: It is a bit cold in the rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review according to your stay at Hampshire Hotel – Babylon The Hague. We are proud that you have rank the hotel so high!

It is nice to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel and that we have met your needs and expectations. We would like to welcome you again at Hampshire Hotel – Babylon The Hague “More than Welcome”.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    166
    74
    31
    18
See reviews for
36
131
32
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a whole 9 days and encountered really rude and unhelpful staff at the reception. they also work at cross purpose, don't understand their own systems.....

worse still, 2 weeks since I settled my bill, the hotel is still holding/blocking funds on my debit card. they have been totally unhelpful in releasing this, and emails go unanswered. Come On!!! am from third world, don't have huge amounts of money. my children depend on these funds.

your facilities are good, your customer service horrifying.

Room Tip: rooms with floor carpets are really dirty. note if you have Athsma
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Catherine G,

First of all we would like to apologize for the inconvenience. We received instructions from your group with regards to your reservation and informed them about the authorizations on credit cards. We regret that this information has not been shared with you. The funds have already been released by our payment partner however it may take several business days for the funds to appear on your account depending on the processing time of your bank. We suggest contacting your bank for more information on this matter.

The same information has been sent by email earlier and we hope you have received this. If not, please let us know and we will be happy to resend it for you.

Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and confusion this may have caused you and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is a short walk away form the seat of government in The Netherlands and the center of The Hague. It offers a decent restaurant on site. Rooms are a bit on the small side and the hotel is going through a refurbishing program.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive review according to your stay at Hampshire Hotel – Babylon The Hague.

Nice to hear that you had a good stay with us and that we have met your expectations and wishes. We would like to welcome you again in Hampshire Hotel – Babylon The Hague “More than Welcome”.

Kind regards,

Marène de Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Construction noise from next door began at 7 or earlier... impossible to sleep but your crew was nonetheless brilliant!

Good breakfast, GREAT location

People were awesome - Esther (sp?) and Daphne on the front desk went the extra mile repeatedly and with a big smile. They make a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review posting. Our apologies for the construction noise you have experience during your stay at our hotel. Very sorry to hear, but we are pleased to inform you that right now all the work constructions are finished at the New Babylon Shopping mall.

We would like to welcome you again in Hampshire Hotel – Babylon The Hague “More than Welcome”.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Love this hotel for it's central location, right next to Den Haag Central station, and 5 minute walk to the centre. The rooms are clean, bathroom good even if weird layout (no toilet door, and bathroom door slides), managed to have a bath whilst there and the tub was a nice big size. Breakfast is average, fruit, ham, cheese and pastries - no cooked foods.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and your positive review posting. We are happy to notice that you had such a pleasant time in The Hague and our hotel. We hope to welcome you again at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon The Hague "More than Welcome".

With best regards,

Rob Hemmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very convinient and cool place to stay for a couple of nights. Good service and location, right next to Den Haag Centraal Station. The room was clean spacious and nicely decorated, it was on the ninth floor and it had a terrace with views to the city. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My partner and I booked into this hotel for a weekend sightseeing in The Hague. It is certainly conveniently located being right next door to the train station and within an easy walk of the centre. However, the carpets in our room were dirty and there were stains on the sofa/chairs (we had a Junior Suite). There was a ribbon of dust hanging from the top of the large picture above the bed. The shower ran scalding hot/freezing cold for no apparent reason (we hadn't flushed the loo or run a tap). We were rudely awoken at 9am on Saturday morning by maintenance sounds from the room below us which sounded like someone was drilling into the ceiling. When we rang reception and requested 2 larger mugs for our tea we were delivered 2 hi-ball glasses, however, the accommodating bar tender did lend us his teapot so were were able to make a pot of tea and top up our coffee cups.
Having said all of that, the view over the road and park was pleasant enough and the bed was very comfortable although the pillows in our room were lumpy.
I do feel the hotel is overpriced and doesn't live up to expectation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your review about your stay at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon The Hague.

I apologise for the fact that we were not able to give you the experience you had expect from our Hotel. We have just renovated the carpet en chairs in the first rooms, this gives the rooms a new and modern look. We understand your feedback and really appreciated it to continuously improver our product and service. I would like to ask you if you can send me your contact details in a private massage to contact you?

We hope to welcome you again in Hampshire Hotel – Babylon The Hague, “More than Welcome”.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Address: Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, 2594 AC The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in The Hague
#19 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag is situated next to the main train station, in the midst of the bustling city life, with across the street an oasis of peace in the beautiful Haagsche Park. This modern 4-star hotel has a prominent reputation for outstanding service and quality comfort. Bright and spacious rooms and a warmly decorated restaurant and lounge provide guests with inviting spaces to dine and unwind. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of town, Den Haag’s main attractions are easily reached. With the station providing direct links to Schiphol and the beach just 10 minutes away, this is the ideal hotel for business and leisure travellers alike. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Babylon The Hague
The Hague Eden Babylon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.