We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, 2594 AC The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
GreenLeadersGold level
Cairo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Reasonable price for the Hague, room was fine and not badly upgraded so if you are happy to overlook a few issues then not a bad choice. Issues like, lack of shower gel, not cleaning the room properly and restocking coffee/tea. No gym - one next door for 12 euros or so. So a solid average- with choice I will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank for your feedback concerning your stay at the Hampshire Hotel – Babylon The Hague.
We will use your comments to reflect upon our level of service and we will make adjustments accordingly.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    173
    78
    34
    19
See reviews for
38
138
32
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Perfect location for this trip : next to the train station and one block away from our conference venue. Despite initial misgivings aroused by a the reception area - cavernous with a desk that has seen better days - misgivings probably magnified by jet lag and tiredness, our stay at the Hampshire was almost all we hoped for. Comfy beds, roomy bathrooms, extremely helpful staff, pleasant bar area all combined to make a very pleasant stay. The Hague is a delightful city and this hotel provides good value and excellent service.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Emin van Couver,

Thank you for your nice review concerning your stay at Hampshire Hotel – Babylon The Hague.
Good to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we have met your needs and expectations.

Furthermore it is interesting to tell that our lobby will be renovated by the end of this year. This will gives the hotel a new and modern look.

We would like to welcome you again at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon The Hague "More than Welcome"

With kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I seriously think the restaurant is understaffed. Today i had to wait 30 minutes +, for a menu and also for service for both lunch and supper time. This is not the fault of the waiters as they are running around continuously delivering quality service. Would suggest the hotel/ restaurant managers look into this, as it is extremely frustrating and not my first experience of this at this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Denrick,

Thank you for sharing your experience about restaurant The LivingRoom at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon The Hague. I apologise for the fact that we were not able to give you the experience and service you can expect from our Hotel.

We have encountered a problem with our staff due to a case of the flu unfortunately.

Hopefully we could welcome you again in restaurant The LivingRoom at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon The Hague to let you experience our level of service "More than Welcome".

With kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We came upon this hotel by chance as we were taking a road trip around the Netherlands and ended up meeting up with a friend on a cold day in The Hague over the Easter holidays. We dropped her off at the station and jokingly suggested to each other to ask about the prices at the hotel next to the station. I said "it looks expensive" (the building is very swish) but my partner thought it was worth asking. When we did, the price was so reasonable that we expected the room to be tiny or not very nice but we took it anyway (it really was very cold outside).
When we got to the room we were surprised to find that it was really spacious. There are flats in London smaller than this room and we took the 'normal' room as opposed to the 'deluxe' one. The room was nicely decorated and had a very comfortable bed and the bathroom was gorgeous, with a big bath and shower, separate WC, hairdryer (no gels/conditioner etc. but there are shops nearby). There were tea- and coffee-making facilities in the room and best of all, it was lovely and warm (there is central heating and air-conditioning). We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as there are cafés nearby. The hotel is literally a 5 minute walk to the centre of town and in front of a park. The room was very quiet too and the staff were faultlessly efficient and friendly. Our GPS had broken on the way so when we left, I asked the general direction to get out of the city and the receptionist sweetly printed me out a description of the route to where we needed to go!
I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I were to find myself in The Hague. It's not often you feel that you have really had good value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thank you so much for your nice feedback concerning your stay with us. We do our best every day and it is nice to read that this is appreciated.

Kind regards,

Rob Hemmes

General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The hotel is nice with comfy bed and bathroom. It's located pretty closed with park and tram station so you were mobile, this place is highly recomended. But i feel terrible about the cultries like when I had my breakfast the bowls is dirty and some are broken so the glasses are. But the staffs are helpful with the information you need.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Fitriani,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay. Good to hear that you had a pleased stay with us.

The have taken your feedback into account. We have ordered new cutlery for in the restaurant and bar.

We hope to welcome you again at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon The Hague "More than Welcome".

With kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hello,

I spent 3 nights with my boyfriend at Hotel Babylon Den Haag in July 2012. It was aweful!!!

Staff: Not friendly, not professional, couldn't even show us the Hotel on a map, didn't make us feel comfortable, badly organized, couldn't answer the easiest questions about touristic destinations and didn't make much effort in letting us feel very welcome

Rooms: freezing, heating system didn't work, nobody could help us, we had to use an extra heating ventilator otherwise we would be frozen, we slept in pullovers and long sleeping pants because of the cold temperatures.

When we asked to change the room because of the room temperatures they didn't want us to change. We insisted and could finally change the room. Unfortunately in the new room there was the same problem with the heating system and it was extremely cold in the room, so no improvement concerning this problem.


We cannot recommend staying at this hotel at all!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Diana,

Thank you for your review about your stay at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon The Hague. I apologise for the fact that we were not able to give you the experience you had expect from our Hotel.

We have just renovated the carpet en chairs in the first rooms, this gives the rooms a new and modern look.

Hopefully we may welcome you again at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon The Hague "More than Welcome".

With kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had 2 night and a dinner in this hotel. It was very enjoyable.
Pick a nice green apple from the reception when you start walking the town,
We were given a map of Den Haag with few tips how to reach the city center.
Less than 1 km walk.
Feel welcome when you get back.
Nice clean rooms.
Be sure to visit the Peace Palace while you are here !

Room Tip: Double doors make sure there's no noise from any neighboor, double glazed windows no noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob H, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Mwende-Koli,

Thank you for posting you comment about your stay at our hotel. Good to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again at Hampshire Hotel – Babylon The Hague “More than Welcome”.

With kind regards,

Rob Hemmes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Address: Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, 2594 AC The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in The Hague
#21 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag is situated next to the main train station, in the midst of the bustling city life, with across the street an oasis of peace in the beautiful Haagsche Park. This modern 4-star hotel has a prominent reputation for outstanding service and quality comfort. Bright and spacious rooms and a warmly decorated restaurant and lounge provide guests with inviting spaces to dine and unwind. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of town, Den Haag’s main attractions are easily reached. With the station providing direct links to Schiphol and the beach just 10 minutes away, this is the ideal hotel for business and leisure travellers alike. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Babylon The Hague
The Hague Eden Babylon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.