We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back at the Babylon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, The Hague 2594 AC, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 64 hotels in The Hague
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Back at the Babylon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I haven't stayed at the Babylon for a while. It has now become the Hampshire babylon and is still very pleasant with a very nice helpful staff. The restaurant is not bad at all. The dining room and bar are airy and very comfortable with very large windows giving onto the park.
The rooms and beds are very comfortable.
On the down side, the rooms and bathrooms were quite clearly designed by men for men. You need to love grey and beige. The Dutch economy light bulbs now found everywhere doesn't do much to warm up the atmosphere. The bathroom shelf and mirror are quite high up and the lighting is not women-friendly. Making up becomes a hap-hazard affair. The (very good) dryer is also quite high up with a short tight spiral cord. Hair drying can be a challenge if you're left-handed and not very tall.
But the strangest thing is the new buildings on two sides of the hotel. They are disturbingly close even in the upper floors to the point of being a bit oppressive. I've never seen anything like it. Right now the buildings are empty, but once the offices are in use, guests may feel really exposed. It isn't possible to see inside the rooms during the day when the lights are off, but guests will be visible at night with the lights on unless you draw the curtains (I asked). If you're on a business trip and in your room at night only, you'll be fine with the curtains closed.
The upside is that those two sides are very quiet. The other two are noisier.
It is however a very nice hotel and ideally located for downtown, trains, buses and trams.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    138
    67
    28
    18
See reviews for
30
110
28
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I read some reviews that this hotel would be a bit tired, but I was very pleasantly surprised. We booked through "weekendje weg" a "Mystery Hotel" and the price - quality was excellent! The only sign that the hotel is a little bit older is the carpet in the rooms, but the beds were great, there were lounge chairs in the room and the bathroom was really nice. The only thing that I remarked were the fake flowers in the breakfast room, which always makes me doubt the quality of the food (if they don't put fresh flowers, how fresh is their food?). However the breakfast buffet was sufficient and the bacon was the best I had since a long time: crispy!!! Staff is very friendly and the tip of renting bicycles at the station (7,50 per person per 24 hours) was golden!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel has free internet- but you have to connect to a 9 inch cable to get it. Which means if you need internet- you need to sit on this small, uncomfortable chair because you can't check internet any other way. Somehow- the world moved on... last time I used cable for internet in a hotel was 2004.

Also the furniture was also a bit outdated.

Seems like they need to flip the calendar over from the 2000s to the new decade.

The location is great- 2 minutes from the station and 3 mins from the tram - which meant I could leave last minute for all the trains - and I caught one every day on this trip. So that was useful.

Reception staff was quite friendly and nice- but didn't interact with the others - since I never ate in.

I appreciate the fact that they upgraded me to a larger room without asking- and the extra space was very welcome - given most hotel rooms in Europe ( at least Amsterdam)- are quite small. So for 100 Euros odd - it was good value.

Overall- would I come back and stay here- well, yes,- if I am in the Hague on business, and I need to wander around- it's location is good- and lots of dining options nearby- and a large park outside.
Not with family, nor on leisure or any other reason

What I missed was no gym, no other facility- except a restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

With som hesitation I would give this hotel an "average" title. The location is great: just beside the Central station and The Hague city centre. The room we stayed in was...well ok...if you can live with the fact that the wallpaper is loosening up here and there (which is only a superficial comment - we can live with that - but it says a bit about the general state of things in a hotel I believe) The staff is helpful enough. Two things to note though 1. The rooms do not have WiFi (they do have a cable network connector for PC though) 2. If you have children (or may have a balance problem after a night out) Please do look out for the extremely sharp points of the design stainless steel tables in the room: a bump into them with your leg or a child's head they are dangerous.
Other things to note is that Central station is one big building site (with all the mess and noise that may produce during daytime), the room can get a bit chilly at night, do not quite understand their star rating (5) but they do have quite a comfortable and relaxing (though expensive) bar. :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel is situated next to train station and parking. 10 minutes walk to centre of The Hague. Large rooms, nice bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I used to stay there years ago. It was a fine hotel with some of the most comfortable beds I ever experienced. Recently, I stayed one week. What a disaster. The room was dark, outlets did not work, the bathroom was mouldy and dirty. Sadly, when I complained that the outlet did not work in the bathroom, the one with the hair dryer, they sent me a new hair dryer. First, I did not need one; I wanted the outlet for my razor. Second, the new hair dryer still would not work because the outlet didn't.

I will admit however that the staff were super nice and polite. But that's it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

centrally located hotel, with good room and good service and great value for money. bed & pillows are to my preference and very comfortable. Staff are very nice and helpful. Lobby area can use a little make over :)

Room Tip: superior room on the 9th floor with the view of the park in front ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag

Also Known As:
Eden Babylon The Hague
The Hague Eden Babylon
Address: Bezuidenhoutseweg 53, The Hague 2594 AC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag is situated next to the main train station, in the midst of the bustling city life, with across the street an oasis of peace in the beautiful Haagsche Park. This modern 4-star hotel has a prominent reputation for outstanding service and quality comfort. Bright and spacious rooms and a warmly decorated restaurant and lounge provide guests with inviting spaces to dine and unwind. The hotel is ideally located in the heart of town, Den Haag’s main attractions are easily reached. With the station providing direct links to Schiphol and the beach just 10 minutes away, this is the ideal hotel for business and leisure travellers alike. Certified with the Golden Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Expedia, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Babylon Den Haag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.