We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Pearl

Restaurant Pearl
Zeestraat 35, 2518 AA The Hague, The Netherlands
+31 70 710 7025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 925 Restaurants in The Hague
Price range: $28 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner
Description: Restaurant Pearl - Hilton The Hague's signature restaurant - is situated on the edge of Noordeinde Street in old city centre's Embassy Quarter, not far from the Dutch Parliament. The restaurant's interior is inspired by Dutch artist Johannes Vermeer's painting 'Girl with a Pearl Earring', with colorful lighting effects, 17th century lace patterns and traditional Delft Blue tiles creating a chic, contemporary design. Serving seasonal dishes cooked with locally-sourced ingredients in Executive Chef Edwin van den Heijkant's authentic French style, Restaurant Pearl is open all day to hotel residents and non-residents alike. Diners can indulge with a hearty breakfast on early mornings, enjoy a two or three-course lunch, or savour an extensive dinner. There's a wide choice of old and new-world wines available, both by the glass and by the bottle, and Restaurant Pearl also features an attractive, sun-facing outdoor terrace which is available for al fresco drinks and dining. Restaurant Pearl is located within easy reach of The Hague's many cultural and historic attractions, and is especially well-placed for guests who wish to combine a gallery visit with a relaxed lunch, or for shoppers wishing to enjoy a cup of coffee after or during a spot of retail therapy in the city's many boutique outlets. Breakfast Monday - Friday 06:30 - 10:00 Saturday - Sunday 08:00 - 11:00 High Tea Monday - Saturday 11:00 - 17:00 Sunday - 12:00 - 17:00 Lunch Monday - Sunday 12:00 - 15:00 Dinner Monday - Sunday 18:00 - 22:00
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Romantic evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here several times and a few on Valentines Day. The food and wines are great since going when the hotel just opened. Almost Michelin quality.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolijnZeeuwen, Manager at Restaurant Pearl, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to write on TripAdvisor regarding your dinner in our restaurant Pearl. I am very pleased to hear everything went well and the evening was romantic.

Kind regards,

Liesbeth Baan
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Food was nicely prepared, but prices too high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

So of course a hotel gourmet restaurant has a tendency to charge higher prices than the average place. But in this case I just didn't feel it was justified. I enjoyed a nice fresh salad as well as a vegetarian pasta dish, also nicely prepared, but the price was ridiculous. Service was friendly and attentive, but in this particular area there are many places to choose from and I would not select this location as a first, second or even third choice. There are several offerings just down the street that I found preferable to this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolijnZeeuwen, Manager at Restaurant Pearl, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor regarding your dinner in our restaurant. Your feedback is very important for us. I will discuss your comments with our Chef.

Kind regards,

Liesbeth Baan
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went to this restaurant on the first day of the Restaurant Week in March 2013. Everything was just fine. The food was excellent if only the portion was rather small. The service staff were all helpful and very pleasant. The impressive Girl with the Pearl Earing by Johannes Vermeer was adding a nice atmosphere to this restaurant.

We had found out there was a mistake in the bill after we settled the bill. I had to come back to the restaurant a few days after we had dinner, and talked with the restaurant manager. She understood the problem at once and acted immediately to correct the bill and made the arrangement for the refund of the money I paid too much. Everybody makes mistakes. Important is how to recover from it. In this sense, the way the restaurant manager did was quite right and I liked the restaurant more because of this incident.

I recommend this restaurant to any one who wants to dine fine in The Hague.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolijnZeeuwen, Manager at Restaurant Pearl, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you very much for your compliments.

Kind regards,

Liesbeth Baan
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Not your typical hotel restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I never eat in hotel restaurants unless I cannot possible avoid it .I would expect any young chef worth their salt to want to work in a top dynamic restaurant kitchen rather than in the bland hotel chains I tend to frequent.

But occasionally, a hotel manager somehow manages to snare someone who really can cook. And the restaurant manager at the Hilton in The Hague has done just that to run his main dining venue, the Grand Café Pearl.

The decor is interesting and the room even manages to look and feel like a proper restaurant .Service is exceptional and the staff are not just helpful but pleasant and knowledge able as well.

But of course the food is the star turn.

We had the set menu at 35 euros for three courses. And as hotel guests we got a 25% discount and a free drink on top of that.

The amuse bouche of red beets with chilied popcorn was so bad we nearly got up and left there and then. So don’t be put off by it .The real stuff is yet to come.

The first course was battered prawns on a bed of tomato and samphire. My partner had cod as the main course and I had lamb. This was followed as dessert by syllabub,vanilla ice cream and strawberries. It all sounds simple. And it was. But the food was well balanced, perfectly cooked and seasoned, and creatively presented. And all of course accompanied by excellent fresh breads and top tasting butter.

Grand Café Pearl is very far indeed from your typical chain hotel restaurant. The guy or girl in charge of the ovens here is not a hotel restaurant cook. He/she is a chef.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolijnZeeuwen, Manager at Restaurant Pearl, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your positive review on TripAdvisor regarding your visit to our restaurant Pearl. I am very happy to see you enjoyed the dinner. I will forward your compliments to the Executive Chef and my team.

Kind regards,

Liesbeth Baan
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Would recommend several other places in the Hague before this one.

Pros
- Dining room is nice with large pearl picture - but still feels like a hotel restaurant (so a pro and a con)
- Veal 2 ways was good - but not amazing
- Dessert was good - but not amazing
- Price was reasonable

Cons
- The salad almost seemed like the Chef was new to cooking and was experimenting - "I wonder if I put this wafer, with lettuce and ...." . None of the parts went well together, or seemed to compliment each other in terms of the flavor
- Ordered a dessert on the menu, but then they indicated they no longer serve it (not that they just ran out). Makes me wonder about a restaurant when their menu isn't even current.
- Service was confused. Several times two people came by and asked the same question. Overall a lack of coordination in the service team.
- Took a very long time for coffee to appear.
- It's not really in the middle of anything
- Overall dishes were ok -- but nothing inspiring. Essentially ok hotel food is what it felt like.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JolijnZeeuwen, Manager at Restaurant Pearl, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing on TripAdvisor after you have visited our restaurant Pearl. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us, as it best evaluates our product and services offerings. I will discuss your comments within my team.

Kind regards,

Liesbeth Baan
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Pearl also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.