We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crime and punishment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum de Gevangenpoort (The Prison Gate Museum)

Museum de Gevangenpoort (The Prison Gate Museum)
Buitenhof 33, 2513 AH The Hague, The Netherlands
+31 (0) 70 346 08 61
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Private Tour
$68*
and up
Private Tour: The Hague Walking Tour Including...
Ranked #30 of 133 things to do in The Hague
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
158 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Crime and punishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We joined an English language tour (held each Sunday at 14:15) which lasted around 50 minutes. The tour guide was knowledgeable and told the group about the history and uses of different parts of the prison, and the various punishment and torture methods that were used at the time. At the end of the tour we were able to visit the museum's exhibition rooms.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    63
    20
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Pretty cool museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I took my parents to see this museum on a cold, wet November day. This proved to be an ideal way to see how prisoners must have felt in their dark, damp quarters while they awaited their trials. I really enjoyed the tour, but mainly because we found a couple fellow guests who could translate a bit for us.

The guided tours are in Dutch (except on Sundays), but you are handed an English pamphlet that discusses the rooms you will see. Unfortunately the pamphlet is not in the same order as the tour, and the guide never indicates this fact. You might want to ask the guide in English to tell you which room you're in, to save a few minutes of confusion as you read along while he is speaking in Dutch.

I also recommend spending a few minutes in the non-guided area of the museum, as there is a staircase from the middle ages that was partially dug out, along with other artifacts.

The adjacent gallery (Gallerij Prins Willem V) is cramped with paintings, but underrated and worth seeing. Look for the booklets in English that discuss each piece. Several famous works including a couple Rubens' are displayed here.

You can see both museums for 10 Euros, or for free with the Museum card. A couple tips: you must store your purse (unless it's really small) in one of their free lockers. Also, don't lean on any walls as some of them date back to the 1300's!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Guided tour is too long and in Dutch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The guided tour lasted about 45minutes, at one point, we spent 12 minutes in one room, with the guide talking to our group (about 15 people). Iam not ssure what he was saying as he only spoke in Dutch even though he knew I was no a Dutch speaker. I wouldn't expect him to translate everything but at least give me the highlights every once in a while.

The tour takes you through a group prison cell, a luxury prison cell, a iron marking room and the torutre room. To be honest, the whole visit could easily be done in under 25minutes with a more concise guided tour.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Brutally honest Dutch history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This museum is housed in the old prisoner facility at the gatehouse of the old wall around The Hague (Den Haag). The tour lasts 30-45 minutes and shows you the old jail cells, torture rooms, and implements of death used to "coerce" confessions from criminals, and in some cases, put them to death very publicy. It's a very honest look at how brutal life was a few hundred years ago. The guide was excellent and clearly enjoyed his job, telling the stories with gusto, and answering questions throughout the tour. We tagged along on a Dutch-speaking tour - I was able to translate for my wife - but they do offer English-language tours too. Also, don't miss out the last three or four rooms that are a self-guided tour where you follow the arrows from room to room. The whole experience shouldn't take more than an hour but it's well worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berg aan de Maas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Feel the history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We took a guided tour through the museum and is was very educational. The tour guide was a good professional (Dutch) guide; make sure that they also offer English-speaking tours before you book. The kids loved it as well, though it is not suitable for very young children since it might be a bit scary for them. The building used to be a prison during former times and you can feel the history as you walk through it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum de Gevangenpoort (The Prison Gate Museum) also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 

Been to Museum de Gevangenpoort (The Prison Gate Museum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum de Gevangenpoort (The Prison Gate Museum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.