We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine food for a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sodafine - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sodafine
Pieterstraat 10, 2513 BX The Hague, The Netherlands (Kortenbos)
(070) 364 86 86
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Kortenbos
Den Haag
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Divine food for a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A great place to eat if you like French style food with only the best and most fresh ingredients. They have a surprise 3 course menu for 25 Euros that is more than worth it. On Tuesdays nights they will serve a perfectly cooked lobster with risotto for 25 Euros but you need to reserve in advance and let them know you would like the lobster (they will buy the lobster on Tuesday morning from the Scheveningen harbor). We love their panacotta for dessert. There is also a 4 course menu and a `a la carte menu. The chef is young but a master in the kitchen. He worked for a few years in a 2-michelin start restaurant but also brings his own touch to what he cook. And service is also great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had the chefs special menu which was fantastic and a great opportunity to try things we would not usually order. The service was excellent, we chose a white wine which was not as cold as they hoped because the fridge had a defect so we were given another bottle of wine complementary whilst they chilled our bottle.

The cod and beatroot 3 ways was delicious. The lobster bisque was also delicious and the poulet noir fantastic. After all that I was unable to eat my desert but my fiance tells me it was fantastic - it looked like eaton mess.

We would definitely go back and have recommended this restaurant to many friends

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous tastes, friendly, lovely little terrace Sodafine in The Haguye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a great find! This little gem serves up great tastes with super front of house service. It's champagne food on a beer budget that brings the best of local, organic where possible, food to your plate. And has the lovely Anna who knows how to make customers feel welcome and relaxed - possibly the best front of house I have ever come across in the Netherlands. I had a stunning home-made spinach ravioli with a delicate mushroom sauce. It was heavenly!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Don't miss it !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

What a strange name for such a nice restaurant! It has a lovely interior, a good atmosphere, nice service but the best come from the kitchen where the chef manage to surprise you. This Belgian/French style food is really amazing, especially considered the price (cheap/normal). I could go there 3 days in a row I think. Don't miss the risotto, it is really something !

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Closed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had made reservations for this restaurant, after spending many hours researching to find the right spot for us in The Hague. We had received a confirmation email back from the restaurant, agreeing to our request. We arrived at Sodafine...and found that everyone was on vacation, the restaurant was closed. Very upsetting...though we did find HanTing afterwards and found that their restaurant was incredible. I imagine that it was a communication mistake, which happens. However, I would hope that they do a better job in the future of making sure that it doesn't happen again.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sodafine also viewed

The Hague, South Holland Province
The Hague, South Holland Province
 
The Hague, South Holland Province
Scheveningen, The Hague
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sodafine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.