We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jorplace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jorplace to your Saves list
Jorplace
Keizerstraat 296 | 2584 BN, 2584 BN The Hague, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We luckily stumbled upon this hostel as it was a cheap place to stay but if I ever back in den haag this is were I will always stay, the staff are great, the vibe is very easy going and friendly and the hostel itself is warm, comfortable and very affordable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    13
    8
    16
See reviews for
3
8
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Looking for a great stay at a great price and a true backpacker experience then Jorplace is the place!

The vibe of the hostel is laid back and the staff is very friendly and willing to help with all your requests. The decoration is awesome, surfer style, colorful, cozy living (with trainseats, how fun) and bar and a nice garden/lounge area with a fireplace.

The location was also great (no not in the city centre of The Hague) but right next to the beach and a supermarket next door. Tram stops around the corner and brings you to the city centre within 15 minutes.

I saw some negative reviews about beds being 3 high, these beds are is also shown on photo's on their website(!), so you should know what you're getting into. It's indeed unusual/unique (I haven't seen it before during my travels) but the price is therefore also lower. As a budget traveler I had no problems what so ever with these beds.

It's a shame to see some bad reviews about the hostel as I loved my stay at Jorplace. For those that want to stay here maybe keep in mind that it is a hostel and not a hotel and experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Its funny that the Hague has the International court of justice as I'm pretty sure my human rights were breached while staying here. Its like staying where everyone is having an awful time....unless you're on a stag do or like sleeping in something resembling a concentration camp (a bit dramatic but hey).
The whole place is dirty, poorly run and generally not a very nice place to stay. The location is quite far out of town but is right next to the beach.

Overall, this is a terrible hostel run by smug people!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the big dorm room as the beds are three tiers high and right next to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I guess I'll start with the one good thing I have to say about this hostel - it has a nice location near a lovely seaside. Apart from that though it really has no redeeming features. When we first checked in the staff seemed very cool and relaxed but after that the vibe at the hostel was unfriendly. The triple bunk beds in the 24 bed room are just awful! They're uncomfortable and the rooms aren't equipped for that many people. The bathrooms were disgusting, one shower actually flooded when I used it and the manager's response to this was to scold me! He was an extremely horrible and rude man. The hostel also held a stag party during our stay so one night we had a stripper in the common area, the same area we were supposed to use to eat our dinner in. If this is the only place available to stay in The Hague then give the place a skip or get off the train, trot around the town for the day and carry on to somewhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed with the our team of 24 people at Jorplace. First we shared the 6 dorm bedrooms, for two nice we checked into the 24 dorm bedroom - bith bedrooms were clean! The staff down at the reception and the bar was excellent and super nice all the time. We got enough entrance cards and bed sheets. Showers and toilets were cleaned every day as well.
In the morning we had a nice breakfast menu will scrambled eggs, toast, cereals. chese, ham, turkey and some fruits and yoghurt. The dinner at the hostel was very good!

We enjoyed our stay very much and hope we can come back next year with our crew!

Room Tip: All rooms are good - preferable double rooms or the big one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The rooms have triple bunk beds, which are really uncomfortable. The whole vibe of the place wasn't very friendly or welcoming. The bathrooms were really filthy, especially the showers (you couldn't go in there without wearing a pair of sandals). The receptionist was friendly enough but that was about it, we were kept up till all hours by drunken yelling till about 4am, but if you went down there, you weren't really welcome... I don't know, it's okay if you just want to spend a few days at the beach with some friends (which is what we did) but don't bother going alone, or for a long period of time, it's too uncomfortable. It is also pretty pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Located 5 min from the beach, has a super market and tram stop on its door step... what more could you ask for! The rooms are clean and kitchen facilities are top notch. The best part of hostel is definitely the atmosphere!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrissy B, Manager at Jorplace, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for your lovely review :) We appreciate that very much.

See you soon!

All the best:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jorplace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jorplace

Address: Keizerstraat 296 | 2584 BN, 2584 BN The Hague, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > The Hague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in The Hague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Searching an affordable & relax place to stay in Scheveningen? Welcome at the first & only Beach Hostel in Scheveningen, Jorplace! We offer beds from € 19,- p.p.p.n. Jorplace offers more than just a bed: Eat, Drink, Sleep & Enjoy! Fully equipped and no time to get bored! See you soon at Jorplace!We offer private 2 persons room to 24persons bunk rooms. We are located just 2 minutes walking from the beach in a street with a lot of shops and bar/restaurants. We also have our own bar inside the hostel and a lounge to relax, kitchen to make your own foods and great staff to answer all your questions! Looking for something to do? We can help you with kitesurfing/surfing/SUP lessons, yoga, longboarding etc! So what are you waiting for... see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Jorplace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jorplace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.