We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Pizza

La Pizza
Scheepstimmermanslaan 21, Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Nieuwe Werk)
(010) 241 77 97
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 480 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Nieuwe Werk
Venezia, Italia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

place very elegant and refined, the bruschetta was great, the pizza was not up to it, but it was still very good most of the Dutch media. The price was fair. It is very popular place so if you do not want to wait for hours standing, best to book in advance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    23
    31
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Buzzing restaurant...Very good Pizzas.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Found after late arrival in Rotterdam. This place was one of the first we looked at as near to our hotel and despite being rammed we got a table. Seemed very popular with locals. Service was very prompt. No-nonsense Pizzas , very well cooked. Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant.
Can't add any more. If you like Italian/pizzas then you won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Pizza's were good.
The only think we didn't like so much was that we initially sat down at a table for four, but we were then told to move to a table for two despite the restaurant being not more than half full. We were amongst the last to leave.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian pizzas in modern setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you are looking for a large choice of authentic wood-fire cooked Italian pizzas in Rotterdam, then this is the place! I love the pizza all'amatriciana with pancetta and chilli. They also do fresh daily appetizers and non-pizza dishes. Service is friendly and efficient with a carafe of water served as standard. The setting is modern and informal although it can get quite noisy mainly due to the type of furnishings and music. Be prepared to wait for a table, not just at the weekend, because it's a popular place and they don't take bookings - but you can wait with a drink in the bar area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a satisfaction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is one of the two or three best pizzeria's in Rotterdam and we often went here since it was just around the block. Unfortunately we moved so we didn't drop by s often as we used to do... They offer a variety of starters of the day and a menu for starters, salads, pizza's and desert. They have good wines - I fancy the Dinderello with my desert which is superb imo. Make sure you come on time because otherwise you have to cue and the favourite dishes might run-out. Ours are the calamaretti which is one of the best we ever tasted in Holland - next to the calamari at Hotel New York. In the past they even had an even better one but since they change the type of octopus it is just a slightly different but nevertheless still very tasty. The atmosphere is splendid but it is a bit noisy so it can be hard when you have much to discuss with a larger group.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pizza also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to La Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.