We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A marvelous neighborhood down-to-earth sophisticated dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lux

Lux
's-Gravendijkwal 133, 3021 EK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
010-4762206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 555 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: $0 - $73
Cuisines: Italian, Vegan, Vegetarian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
NL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A marvelous neighborhood down-to-earth sophisticated dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have come to Lux so many times. Its only fair to drop a review.
What to say? I like to come here on Friday nights and I know I'm going to have a really good meal with really good wine with my husband or friends and we will chat the night away (yes, we are some of those who leave the last). The menu changes frequently and it has always surprised me.
Excellent service and atmosphere. For the quality of the food its very good value for money. Not cheap but not expensive either. Writing the review makes me want to go back. Yum yum.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    11
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I really wasn't sure what to expect from Lux but having dined there recently, I can only recommend the place! The restaurant is light and airy, with a beautiful outside seating option in the summer. My partner ordered the octopus and ginger risotto for starters and we shared some antipasti whilst waiting for it to be freshly prepared. Antipasti were excellent, it's difficult to only choose 7 from the wonderful selection of homemade dishes! Main courses were equally delicious, simply prepared with high quality ingredients. Service was kind and thoughtful and we thought the meal was really good value for the quality of the food. We will definitely be going back...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monster, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great Italian food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

After a new owner (the chef) took it over, part of the old restaurant was closed, the tables were put further away from each other and the result is an even better place to go for dinner. What stayed was the great food and great service and now with more space and less packed it is great !

Nice choice of starters with a cart full of fresh antipasti to choose from (4 or 7 choices on a plate) and also other starters you can choose from. Everyday fresh fish with the fish of the day and with great desserts this is definitely one of the better Italian restaurants in the area.

Great service from the very friendly lady who is in charge of in the dining area. Excellent knowledge of the food, great pairing with the wine (we had a beautiful Primitivo, to die for....) and last but not least a very friendly bill, we paid little bit over 200 euro with 5 persons with a bottle of red wine, 2 bottles of sparkling water and most of us had dessert as well, no coffee however.

No complaints here, great place, parking is not always easy and the neighbourhood is not the most beautiful there is, but that is the only thing against. Cannot go wrong here.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This restaurant i can really recomend, food is great, atmosphere is great and the service is super. However be aware teh maincourses are without any side disches, thsi you have to order separately. Value for money is very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

A very reasonably priced Italian restaurant - good food- attentive staff - a relaxed atmosphere with tables just far enought apart to feel private and just close enought together to feel part of the crowd

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lux also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.