We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lux

Lux
's-Gravendijkwal 133, 3021 EK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
010-4762206
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 564 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: $0 - $73
Cuisines: Italian, Vegan, Vegetarian, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I really wasn't sure what to expect from Lux but having dined there recently, I can only recommend the place! The restaurant is light and airy, with a beautiful outside seating option in the summer. My partner ordered the octopus and ginger risotto for starters and we shared some antipasti whilst waiting for it to be freshly prepared. Antipasti were excellent, it's difficult to only choose 7 from the wonderful selection of homemade dishes! Main courses were equally delicious, simply prepared with high quality ingredients. Service was kind and thoughtful and we thought the meal was really good value for the quality of the food. We will definitely be going back...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monster, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great Italian food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

After a new owner (the chef) took it over, part of the old restaurant was closed, the tables were put further away from each other and the result is an even better place to go for dinner. What stayed was the great food and great service and now with more space and less packed it is great !

Nice choice of starters with a cart full of fresh antipasti to choose from (4 or 7 choices on a plate) and also other starters you can choose from. Everyday fresh fish with the fish of the day and with great desserts this is definitely one of the better Italian restaurants in the area.

Great service from the very friendly lady who is in charge of in the dining area. Excellent knowledge of the food, great pairing with the wine (we had a beautiful Primitivo, to die for....) and last but not least a very friendly bill, we paid little bit over 200 euro with 5 persons with a bottle of red wine, 2 bottles of sparkling water and most of us had dessert as well, no coffee however.

No complaints here, great place, parking is not always easy and the neighbourhood is not the most beautiful there is, but that is the only thing against. Cannot go wrong here.....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This restaurant i can really recomend, food is great, atmosphere is great and the service is super. However be aware teh maincourses are without any side disches, thsi you have to order separately. Value for money is very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

A very reasonably priced Italian restaurant - good food- attentive staff - a relaxed atmosphere with tables just far enought apart to feel private and just close enought together to feel part of the crowd

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordeloos, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“An Italian dinner as it should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

For a good dinner in a rather informal atmosphere at a really reasonable price, LUX is the place to go. It's my favorite eating spot in Rotterdam. My rating is similarly favorable as the previous one, 11 months ago.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lux also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Lux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.