We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come hungry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dudok

Dudok
Meent 88, 3011 JP Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdriehoek)
+31 (0)10 433 3102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 548 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: $30 - $37
Cuisines: American, European, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdriehoek
Ghent
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Come hungry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stopped by around 3pm. The place was packed with people having late lunch, having a drink during shopping and having a coffeebreak.
The apple pie is very rich (a lot of butter and sugar involved). So only plan the apple pie stop in your itinerary on a 'hungry' moment. We had a heavy stomach for quite some time. We expected too much of it. Should have shared a portion with two. Dudok's apple pie can also be found all around town (we saw it at Central Station and Restaurant Bazar).
My wife had the cheesecake which was fresh in taste and probably a better option not being really hungry.
Service was quick and pleasant.
As it was crowded it was quite loud. As the floor is of oneven bricks it's not easy to sit stable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    105
    45
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice service, pastry specialty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I always get the Dudok apple pie. Great piece of pie.
Nice selection of pastries.
We ordered it along with some tea and coffee.
Nice location, perfect view to look at people passing by.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious for all times of day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

During our few days in Rotterdam, Dudok was by far the best restaurant my mom and I ate at. For any non dutch speakers (us), there is no English menu, however most of the items are easy enough to translate as long as you know a few basic words (kip= chicken, zalm= salmon). The rest of the menu is pretty intuitive. We ate here once for dinner, and once for breakfast/brunch. For dinner, my mom and I both had chicken, which came with some curried vegetables, and a creamy almost risotto like rice. It was delicious, and the food tasted incredibly fresh, but also comforting, something we needed after a long day of traveling.

There is also a little cafe next door (just for Dudok's pastries), and one day we picked up a scone, and croissant from there. Those were fine, but not as good as the rest of the food from Dudok's main restaurant.

We also had our last breakfast here, I had a delicious yogurt parfait with granola, fresh fruit (very fresh), and honey. I also had a really good hot chocolate (with a ton of whipped cream :) ). My mom and I were later disappointed once we got to Amsterdam, that we hadn't tried the apple pie there (to compare it to Amsterdam), but besides that Dudok was great. Both times we ate outside, and it was a nice area to eat at.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putten, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good place for eating and drinking when you're shopping in Rotterdam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

It's noisy and the service can be lacking at times, but Dudok has great atmosphere combined with value for food and drinks. Sitting outside on a friday evening offers you a glimpse at the Rotterdam locals cruising by ;-)

p.s. the entrecote with Roseval potatoes and haricots verts was simple but delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great place to just hang out or to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I really enjoyed this restaurant. It has an unusual ambiance almost like an industrial space but don't let that deter you. The service and especially the food was good. They had pigs neck on the menu and it was delicious with a ginger based sauce. They also had much more traditional meats and fish. While the menu is small for dinner all of the selections were good. The outdoor seating was crowded but the space inside if very large and can easily accommodate large groups. A nice selection of beers and wine. Don't pass up the desert, especially the apple pie! Went there twice in one week.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dudok also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Dudok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dudok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.