We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Parkheuvel

Restaurant Parkheuvel
Heuvellaan 21, 3016 GL Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Nieuwe Werk)
+31 (0)10 - 43 60 766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 555 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: $148 - $1,484
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Nieuwe Werk
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good, but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

As you expect, a two-star Michelin restaurant has the utmost quality. Everything is technically fantastic here. Their food is the best quality and the presentation is fantastic.

The downsides are a rather sterile atmosphere and service which is, again, technically perfect. However there's little feeling in the service and feels as if the personnel are more proud of working in a michelin restaurant, then proud of providing great service.

Their wine selection is great and they really understood what I liked - this is impreccable. All in all it met expectations - but didn't exceed them.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    22
    6
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Probably the best classic French restaurant in Rotterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Loved the food, wine and service. Ambiance is a bit business like. Make sure you get a window table, so you can look out over the river in the summer or lunchtime.

On multiple occasions I dined with a group and Parkheuvel is one of the few top-class restaurants I know that has a function room for private dining and/or meetings

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam, netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Fantastic 4-course lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a wonderful lunch in restaurant Parkheuvel last saturday. Not only did they serve very delicious and innovative dishes, the service by (compared to us ;-) ) young attentive hosts was above and beyond expectations. They also offer a wine arrangement with the lunchmenu but you can choose to have a glass of wine with each course as you preferer. The dishes did take us by surprise, hard to choose a winner! All and all a very pleasant afternoon, a wonderful view of the harbour in a relaxed ambiance! We certainly will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The food is good, but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The food was good. We had a 4 course lunch. When you take all the intermediary courses into consideration, it was sumptious. Some things were only mildly tasty (the very first set of little pastry things and, actually, the fish offered in the main course were only 'good'). Some things were out of this world. The staff was very attentive.
On the other hand, there was a way in which the whole thing didn't come together and really work as an experience. Lunch went on, actually, too long. We were sitting for more than 2 hours, and we had all gotten restless by the time the third (of four) desert dishes rolled out. The staff were gracious without being welcoming or friendly. The food was tasty and plentiful without really coming together for a consistent, powerful experience that hung together in any meaningful way. The decor was uninspired.
In short, while I definitely enjoyed myself, given the reputation and the michelin stars, I expected much more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Long ago...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Been awhile but tho food is fantastic and the wines are perfect! Is it expensive but that comes with the stars

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Parkheuvel also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Parkheuvel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Parkheuvel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.