We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long ago...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Parkheuvel

Restaurant Parkheuvel
Heuvellaan 21, 3016 GL Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Nieuwe Werk)
+31 (0)10 - 43 60 766
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 548 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: $148 - $1,484
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Nieuwe Werk
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Long ago...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Been awhile but tho food is fantastic and the wines are perfect! Is it expensive but that comes with the stars

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    22
    6
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dinner heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Parkheuvel must be one of the best restaurants in the Netherlands. The food, service and ambiance are unequalled. Situated in the Park, the view over the river Maas makes it a spectacular location. Inside you feel like royalty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Quality like you expect from a Michelin stars restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited Parkheuvel during a special week, and got to experience why they have Michelin Stars. The food, the wine, the combination of both, the service.........all of it was worth it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Eating flowers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Every time we eat at Parkheuvel lying on a hill in the parc with a beautiful view on Rotterdam Harbour we are surprised by the quality of the food and the attentiveness of the personel. We are no easy eaters because of high expectations and allergy for all kinds of food. Again and again the topchef surprises us with his knowledge of delightfull adjustments to the limited possibilities. Last time we had a 5course lunch with a various delicious amount of meat and vegetables. The big surprise was a superb looking plate with asparagus with eatable flowers, never tasted such subtle delight. We like to come back as soon as possble, because the ambiance is joyfull and the dishes worth the price! Your taste gets spoiled here. Desert and coffee with homemade pastries are impressive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food, great interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

When moving to Rotterdam 25 years ago this was one of the first restaurants I noticed. I though it was ready to shut down, because middle of the day and it was closed. Fortunately I was very wrong.

So 25 years later I made reservations for our 5-year anniversary and of course it was still open. Parkheuvel was the first 3-star restaurant in the Netherlands (currently 2-star) and it is fully deserved. The food was delicious, the wine was good (though I'm no connoisseur), the interior was stylish and reserved. Above all the host was the best of any restaurant I've been. Dining in any restaurant. Also I still love the view overlooking the River Maas. For some reason in front of Parkheuvel is the only place in the city where there is reliably a ship docked. It's almost like it's a prop to complement the view from the restaurant.

Afterwards we had a stroll in the Euromast park and went home fully satisfied.So if you're not from Rotterdam, you should visit it because maybe beside Zwetheul it is the absolute very best that Rotterdam and probably Zuid-Holland has to offer. If you are from Rotterdam you should visit because, well, it is as much Rotterdam as Feyenoord is.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Parkheuvel also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Parkheuvel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Parkheuvel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.