We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bazar

Bazar
Witte de Wittstraat 16, 3012 BP Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Cool)
010-206-5151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 548 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Cuisines: African, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Cool
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The food and atmosphere of this busy, vibrant restaurant are superb. But we were not greeted warmly and we got the impression we weren't the first people treated this way.

We did not have a reservation (you should - it's busy) as we had just arrived in the city and were starving. We dumped our bags at a nearby hotel and ventured out, stumbling upon this delightful place. When we approached the host, we were rather rudely informed we could have a table upstairs but only for one hour. We were sent upstairs and told by the staff upstairs that we couldn't eat there. We told the two men that the woman downstairs sent us up and we were seated in the corner with a stern reminder we could only be there for an hour. I don't know what would have happened if we would have gone over our hour, but thankfully the food was so delicious that we promptly devoured it.

We will give it another try - with reservations - and see how we are treated a second time around.

They do have an English menu but you have to ask for it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    238
    68
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Bazar is located on a lively street, which can be said for the restaurant itself as well. Some may call it noisy, others will like the buzzing atmosphere.
It's a colourfull place with a broad Arabic menu. Food is very affordable and provide always a nice meal. All the times i have eaten here, it has always been of good quality. Same can be said about the service, friendly and on time.
Nice place to drop by when you are in the neighbourhood whether its for lunch, a snack or a dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Staff is really nice, fast n eficient service, fair price, awesome presentarion, not the best marrocan food in the world, but def a fun place to eat n relax

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Fun place with a bit of that Amsterdam hippy spirit. The food is fusion morocco with a nice combo platter available at lunch.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food and Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I really enjoyed the time at Bazar.
The price level is workable and the taste are great. I had a tradional breakfast, the table comes full of food: cheese, bread, yougurt, fruits... Tea and coffee.
Was a great experience. The place is theme of Maroccan and the tea is very special.
The service was slow but the place was very busy during a spring afternoon out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bazar also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Bazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.