We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price/quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein

Save Saved
You added Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoofdweg 40, 3067GH Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good price/quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice hotel,
+ Clean rooms,
+ free wifi,
+ convenient location next to the major A roads.
+ large parking
- The restaurant is below average and overpriced.
- Far from the center
Recommended for business travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for smoke free. Even numbers for the sunset. Odd numbers for the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
8
3
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Central Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

stayed at the hotel for just over a week

rooms were decent, free wifi but couldn't access viber for calls over the net annoying ??
the food was nice but could take a long time to be served.

the staff were friendly and helpful,

a cash machine is a good 15 - 20 minute walk towards town centre.

not even a cash machine in the local small shopping precinct approx 250m
behind the hotel

Ok for business

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

First of all the address for the hotel gives NOT correct directions on Google maps, you should write Hoofdweg 100! We search for an hour to the hotel and finally after several directions we found it. It is possible to reach by walking from Rotterdam Alexander station (10min from hotel). Rotterdam Alexander was 8min by train from Central station, tickets was bought directly at Schipol. Taxi from central station approx €15.
The hotel was very nice rooms was average with good sleeping quality. Breakfast was included in our price of €100 and the breakfast was great including eggs and bacon.
So service and rooms was all great, the drawback is the position if you not have car.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking time to leave a comment on TripAdvisor. Your comments are very important to us in order to keep improving our service level. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this. Furthermore I thank you for informing us about the directions, we will take make the modifications as soon as possible.

I do hope to welcome you in one of our hotels again.

Kind regards,

Maik Willems
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Europe
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

As you can not choose between better than average and not very good, I chose average. As the hotel itself is an average 3 star hotel. The hotel is in a business area of Rotterdam and has easy access to the highway. Room was not too big but clean. Breakfast was okay. Hotel seems to be popular with businesspeople. They have rooms where you can smoke (I don't know if that is a salesargument these days). What makes this hotel not the standard average is the staff. The people who work here make it a better experience than just plain average.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests. Your opinion is very important to us, I can assure you that the compliments will be forwarded to our hotel staff! For all of the other comments, we will take the necessary actions. I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels
.
With kind regards,
Maik Willems
CEO and Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Terrible internet - not suitable for work or leisure
Food is bad - pretty expensive and bad
Rooms are clean - the rooms are cleaned everyday
Restaurant is not clean - tables are sticky
Bathrooms are clean - this applies to room and public bathrooms

Tip: don't choose breakfirst for 13.50 euro.

Room Tip: Skip breakfirst and call the hotel for the best price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that I will take the necesarry appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Owner and CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night on April 9, 2011, for the Rotterdam Marathon. The hotel is slightly out of the way from the city center, which involves a 15 min. walk to the train station then a 15 min. ride on the train. The hotel staff are helpful and professional. The rooms are extremely clean, and quiet. No freeway noise was heard even though our room faced the freeway. One area of improvement for this hotel would be to offer better and larger bottles of shampoo / shower gel, etc. A fine hotel. No problems here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Clean and well equiped room. Bed not great but good enough. Ample space. The safe did not work. Location is not good. Its a 15 min walk from Alexander station, which is 10min overground train to Centraal Station. Another reviewer says there are no pavements down, this is not correct, but you can walk off the pavement path if you dont look ahead. I believe I was there the same night as this gentlemen, as I overheard that conversation.... I had the meat Lasagne! Like the other meals it was very good and surprisingly well priced. The mini-bar is also not badly priced by other hotel standards.

Breakfast I was unhappy with. As noted by another review, they do not replace the food, in actual fact, the lady stood about while I was putting food in my plate, as soon as I sat down she brought out more, WHY? The staff really are hands off, they buzz about asking if you want anything etc, but in my case I actually like that. I dont even like the usual "is your meal ok/everything to your satisfaction?". Here they let you get on with it, other people would consider that rude i guess.

On the whole I was quite happy, but like every hotel in Rotterdam, its very expensive. A great facility there is free-wifi. Id give this hotel 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Green, Budget...
Show More
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Independent Hot...
Show More
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
De Arendshoeve
De Arendshoeve
#9 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Hotel Rotterdam
Hotel Rotterdam
#26 of 53 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
Oude Westen
Hotel van Walsum
Hotel van Walsum
#10 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein

Address: Hoofdweg 40, 3067GH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rotterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein offers a 24-hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein is a comfortable four star hotel situated along the A20 and A16, near the centre of Rotterdam and a walking distance from the Kralingse Bos. The hotel is ideal for business guests because the hotel is well accessible by car. Only a ten minute drive of the Bastion Deluxe Hotel you will find the world dock and architectural city of Rotterdam. Lovers of nature and water will find the "Kralingse Forest" and the "Kralingse Plas" within walking distance. Rooms The hotel has 105 comfortable deluxe rooms. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Terbregseplein Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Terbregseplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.