We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is a sting in this tail” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel One

Save Saved
You added Hotel One to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel One
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Westersingel 1, Rotterdam 3014AP, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“There is a sting in this tail”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Well positioned in Rotterdam. The rooms are fine.... but three stars and not 4. The breakfast basic but OK. When one enters the Hotel there is a lingering smell of rancid oil and Chinese food, not pleasant at all. Staff friendly. Overall a three star experience and definitely not 4.

Now the problem.... I and my family have been bitten/stung by something in the rooms. Not mosquitos! Something much more bloodthirsty and severe. I literally have dozens of bites and all the itches to prove it. BAD NEWS!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
4
9
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Nothing too bad, but it's definetely not a 4 stars.
positives:nice breakfast; the personnel is polite; location is good.
negatives: rooms and reception smell food ( chinese restaurant next door); room is minimal; hallway and elevator claustraphobic; bathroom crowded.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectation for the price and location (65 euro and near the train station). Staff were very friendly and helpful. Spaces are small (elevator, halls, rooms) but nothing too annoying for the price. The room was also small but clean (bathroom was huge! and also VERY clean). I had a room facing the street and had no noise issues. For those travelers that do not spend too much time in their rooms, this is an EXCELLENT choice. My invoice was sent via email and when I arrived they were already expecting me (I had noted that I would be arriving fairly late at night).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked this 4 star hotel for a smal vacation. Indeed very friendly and helpfull staff, and a quirky funny very small 2 person elevator, and we had a 3rd floor room :-). Good breakfast. Room overlooking the noisy street (closing windows really help) was not up to 4 star level in our opinion. One cupboard could not open as the bed's nightdesk stands there. Nothing to hang up anything in bathroom. You have to go backwards to sit on toilet, too cramped. Nothing to hang coats on in room, but two high up buttoms of which one was loose. Room could do with a coat rack. Small things, so to me a great 3,5 room. To be recommended.
Within walking distance of Central station, and trams right outside the door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Pros:
- really close to Central station
- old Dutch building with steep stairs
- has an elevator for 2 persons
- rooms equipped with kettle
Cons:
- bar closed after 22-00
- noisy if windows are opened

Room Tip: stayed in room 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were suppose to travel back to the UK on the 3rd of January, but the boat company left us at Hook Van Holland, we couldn't go back to Amsterdam, because it was too far and was late at night,so we decided to go to Rotterdam, it was quite cold outside, and was raining as usual, we were a bit desperate,and we were looking for anything available. Well the hotel was a very nice place to stay. comfy king size bed, tea and coffee facilities in the room, the bathroom was lovely.
The price for the room was ok. and they also offered us the late check out. Unfortunately, we couldn't try out the breakfast because we woke up too late, the overall experience was more than positive,and I will go back there, if I will end up in Rotterdam again. Thanks to the One Hotel for the hospitality and the late check out....it really helped us/

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Very good location, near central train station, its Chinese neighborhood so there are lots of Chinese restaurants and shops.Room is very big, big and comfortable bed, clean bathroom, excellent breakfast- a wide range of bread, meats, cheese, cereals, fruit juices, etc
The staff were very friendly and helpful. A man from China recommended what to see in Rotterdam and how to get there.
The only thing that we didnt like is elevator- think that is the smallest one in the world:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel One

Also Known As:
One Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Westersingel 1, Rotterdam 3014AP, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel One 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.