We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay at Grand Hotel Philadelphia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quartier Du Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quartier Du Port to your Saves list
Quartier Du Port
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van Vollenhovenstraat 48-50, 3016 BJ Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Philadelphia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay at Grand Hotel Philadelphia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

This was our second stay at Hotel Grand Philadelphia, and it was again excellent ! We asked same room (20), and we found it in exact same state as 2 years ago: huge, spotless, big bathroom, quiet though overlooking the street (double windows very effective, and airco very silent). Chic decor, king size bed, nice duvet, pillow and mattress, complete sitting area (2 leather chairs + 1 sofa), big cupboard, plenty of space, ... What can you ask for more ? Yes, just a few things: no minibar, no kettle in room, not much hangers in cupboard, not much channels on TV (8 only, mostly Dutch).

Hotel is still full of charm, in this old brickhouse, staff extremely friendly. Neighboorhood is superb, 2 minutes walk from Veerhaven where you can take a watertaxi to Hotel New York to see sunset on the river, between the 2 gigantic towers on the small Manhattan ... Beautiful ! Breakfast buffet very complete, fresh orange juice squeezed at the minute for you.

Again, looking forward to my next stay in beautiful city of Rotterdam, and it will be in Grand Hotel Philadelphia !
PS: price is cheap for the space and quality that you get there, really !

  • Liked — Huge space, charm, cleanliness, location, price !!!
  • Disliked — No minibar, no kettle in room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
19
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

Not the most welcoming of hotels with a rather dingy reception area and a most peculiar smell of - well - sewrage, or stale cabbage really! However, the staff were helpful and the room we stayed in on the first floor was excellent (and non-smelly!). It was a modern twin room with duvets, en-suite with bath and shower, and a balcony out side, though the view of the rear of the adjacent building was nothing to write home about!! One point of note, particularly for us Brits who like their tea, there are no coffee or tea making facilities in the room - take your own kettle! The room was clean, although the towels a little on the small side.

Local facilities were a little sparse, and we would DEFINITELY suggest giving the local bar (The Cave) a miss, unless you are into the seedier side of Dutch life. Many young women of various nationalities and older men, if you know what i mean....

One local spot you don't want to miss is the Euromast, particularly for lunch or dinner in the restaurant half way up. The views are spectacular and the food is excellent.

  • Liked — Clean modern room
  • Disliked — No tea!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

We have just spent a couple of nights at this lovely hotel. It was our first time to Rotterdam and so took a taxi from the Central Station to the hotel which was about 10 Euros. A better way to travel would have been on the No7 tram, getting off one stop from the southern end, where the hotel is approx. 1 minute walk and would have cost 1.60 Euros each. This hotel suited our needs perfectly. It was very clean, all the staff were very happy to help and the continental breakfast was great. We arrived on a Sunday and the bar was closed, but locally there are a number of good restaurants including Asian, Turkish, Indian, Italian and more traditional Dutch ones. It takes about 20 to 25 minutes to walk into the shopping centre, but be aware most shops on Mondays do not open until 11.00 or 12.00. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleaniness, Decor and Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

Regularly travel to Rotterdam with work, and have come to really appreciate this hotel. Was a bit put off at first as it doesn't have a restaurant, and sometimes when I head back at night I just want to grab a quick bite to eat. However there are so many good restaurants nearby that this isn't really a problem.
All the rooms I have stayed in have been great, plently of space, large bathrooms and comfortable beds.
The staff are really very helpful, and that glass of fresh orange juice in the morning is very welcome.
I would highly recommend this hotel - it is in a great location for exploring Rotterdam. It would be my choice if I was there for a weekend or a few days vacation.

  • Liked — lovely rooms, great location
  • Disliked — No restaurant in the evening
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Philadelphia for four nights in early September and enjoyed my stay. The hotel was booked for me (at my request, after viewing the list of potential lodgings) by the organizers of a meeting, so I don't know the exact rate. The hotel is located near the waterfront, in a neighborhood that was historically apparently a bit iffy, but has now been quite thoroughly gentrified, with upmarket restaurants, etc. (many right across the street in a renovated warehouse called Westerlijk Handelsterrein). The hotel is lovely, with the downstairs reception area and breakfast room/bar being old-fashioned, but the rooms being modern, with every convenience.

My room was on the first floor, facing the street (almost certainly the same room as described in another review here, as one of the wardrobe doors has still not been replaced). A tram that goes to Centraal runs right in front of the hotel---as it heads in the opposite direction before making an approximately 10 minute loop and then returning, this was very convenient, as it gave me time to put on my shoes and coat before going downstairs to step right on (you can buy your ticket from the conducter, but note that you can also buy passes valid for 24 hrs from the same conducter, very convenient if you're touring). I did not find the noise bothersome during the day, and if you shut the windows (and operate the air conditioning, necessary on my perhaps unseasonably warm visit) the noise is no longer an issue. The windows are huge, but have very good black out curtains that you can draw at night (and will want to, as the front of the hotel is illuminated, so too much light for me to sleep unless I did).

The room was large, and featured a king-size bed, desk, satellite TV, and table (and free-standing wardrobe---I didn't use the safe, so can't comment). The bathroom was enormous, with a separate stall shower and bathtub.

The staff was friendly, and security is very good: after hours you have to be buzzed in by the night clerk. Breakfast was typical Dutch: meats, cheeses, bread, spreads (including chocolate sprinkles), yogurt, fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, hot beverages (coffee not great, though you can ask for an espresso).

I would stay here again without hesitation, and have recommended it to friends.

  • Liked — Accomodations
  • Disliked — Some street noise at night, so windows closed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Philadelphia with a friend of mine recently. We stayed for 5 nights and shared a twin room. The room was excellent, quite large, and absolutely clean. I think the hotel has been recently renovated. It is quite modern and has lovely decor. I absolutely enjoyed my stay. The only possible negative aspect is that there is no room service, and that the restaurant only opens for functions so you'd have to go out for dinner, but this is not such a problem cos there are lots of eating houses in a complex across the road. There is also a tram stop a few steps away from the entrance so exploring Rotterdam is easy. The staff are also pleasant. The reception area is not so great looking so at first you will be disappointed, but do not despair the rooms will make up for that.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlem, netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

I always asked for the same superieur room, but this time they gave me a de luxe room for a superieur price. The room was smaller and on the front side of the hotel which is very noisy.
I asked for the room I made a reservation for but it didn't help me at all.
In the room there is a wardrobe. The door of the wardrobe was hanging out.
I also had problems with the safe.
Conclusion: the hotel can't garantee anymore the service the had a year ago. Especially not when they are complete.
It not nice when they let you pay than the web page told you.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quartier Du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quartier Du Port

Address: Van Vollenhovenstraat 48-50, 3016 BJ Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Grand Hotel Philadelphia)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quartier Du Port 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quartier Du Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quartier Du Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.