We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Kong Hostel

Save Saved
You added King Kong Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
King Kong Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Witte de Withstraat 72, 3012 BS Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Cool)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A really outstanding hostel, huge beds and everything is really clean. The kitchen and common area is well kept, and a really fun place to socialise. The staff are really friendly and helpful, as well as the other guests, you will meet many different nationalities! Also the location is great, and on the high street, so there are many yummy restaurants walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
10
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Such a quirky hostel. Stayed for 2 nights. Stayed in the Kong Meis room which had a wet room shower including shampoo etc. No deposit for towels :) €20 deposit for room key card. Hair dryer included. Netflix 'available' but it didnt work in our room, but we spent most our time in thr kitchen/social area. Room also had a safe which was a plus. There was also a fridge but it didnt seem to work.... but we used the big communal fridge and labelled our stuff. Hostel is close to a spar for all food/alcohol purposes. Would have been good if they sold alcohol but they did have a beer vending machine. Coffee and tea were on tap which was good. Staff were lovely and friendly. Definitely worth a stay :)

Room Tip: No lift, choose first floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Clean, busy, pretty trendy. Good quality free coffee and coffee. Interior's quite nice. As part of a couple I booked the double-bed private loft room, but I was disappointed in its lack of privacy or benefits... it was right above the middle of a big dorm and very noisy at night, tipsy travellers coming in late, talking loudly, slamming doors... And the loft room itself was nothing but a big bed with a curtain around it. I guess it's a good hostel if you're looking to party or make friends, but I wouldn't bother with the private rooms again.

Room Tip: There's only one really private room, which is the Kong Meis. Otherwise you might as well sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa_Kokorina, Manager at King Kong Hostel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for taking the time to submit the review about our hostel!

I was sorry to hear that the "Lovers Loft" (309, the room you talk about in your review) didn't exactly hit your sweet spot.

I see that last month you paid a visit to Vienna and also stayed in a hostel, which you gave the maximum rating. I checked it out, to see why was this your favorite hostel and if there is something we can lean. I saw that their current overall rating is lower than ours, because of some less positive reviews. So my conclusion is that every experience is subjective and I feel that sometimes "hostel luck" works with us and sometimes against us.. :)

I wish, though, that King Kong was your favorite hostel! And I wish the same with every guest. Therefore I always recommend to take a virtual tour on our website prior to booking. This way you can look inside every room (Including the "Lovers Loft") and know better what is there to expect...

Once again, I am very sorry that you had to experience some noise. Budget wise, it is an affordable option for couples, but indeed, next time you might want to go for "Kong Meis" room, which offers the comfort and amenities of a boutique hotel.

Allow me to wish you a lot of hostel luck for the future and to invite you to stay at the King Kong hostel again, would you ever decide to come back to Rotterdam. I will personally ensure that your next stay would be nothing less than excellent!

Alisa Kokorina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We've found this hostel by chance walking in Rotterdam's streets. It was awesome. All the staff's members were really friendly. We slept in the big dorm room, wich was really spacious and well decorated. The kitchen was amazing. There's also a room with a big TV where you can watch movies on confortables sofas.
The Hostel is located in the center of Rotterdam, on the main street but it doesn't disturbe you while sleeping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

A very good location, 10 mins walk from central station, near all the touristic spots, very clean, amazing decoration, a lot of facilities, 1min walk from tram stop, 4mins walt to metro station and very friendly staff. A great atmosphere in one of the coolest streets in Rotterdam,

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

King Kong Hostel is an ideal budget option located on the lively Witte de Withstraat. When we visited in May it had only been open for a month or so but things ran very smoothly. The manager was very friendly and helped carry our bags up the stairs and moved us to a different room with a double bed - which was a nice gesture. And when we somehow managed to lock our keys in our locker the staff arranged for a pair of bolt cutters within the hour, which we really appreciated.

They do a cheap breakfast which you can have downstairs or take away and there's also a nice movie room with cinema screen, sofas and magazines. As well as all that they have a free tea/coffee machine where you can help yourself, and if you want the good stuff they also have a cafe out the front with quality baristas.

One thing worth noting: King Kong is situated on one of Rotterdam's busiest bar/club strips so expect some noise during the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa_Kokorina, Manager at King Kong Hostel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Sibien,

Thank you very much for this positive review! We do remember your funy story with locked keys! We warn our new guests, who purchase the locks, not to have the same accident, and every time we still giggle :)

But nothing is too much effort for our nice guests! We always try to deal fast with all guest requests, like this we provide a seamless service.

We would love to have you back soon! So if you decide to come back to Rotterdam, you are welcome to stay with us again!

Warm Regards,

King Kong Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

King Kong hostel is probably the best hostel in Rotterdam. It's located at the hearth of Rotterdam and in most hip street in the city, Witte de Withstraat. If you are looking for indie-vibes, and very cool cafe to hangout King Kong hostel is the place. The hostel has very spacious room for 4 (during my stay) and super comfy bed. Bathroom was great, services were superb and everything went smoothly during my stay.

To coffee person, King Kong hostel has the best cafe in the area for breakfast. Lunch and dinner too! I'll be coming back soon. Get your brewed beans in the house and start your day. Meet their cool baristas!

If you're a backpacker (and hipster :), this is the best place for you in Rotterdam. Great for your instagram feed pictures. Eccentric interior!

instagram @kerolizwan

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King Kong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Kong Hostel

Address: Witte de Withstraat 72, 3012 BS Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Kong Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Kong brings an entirely new attitude to Rotterdam. This boutique hostel has an iconic urban style and is a choice of a sophisticated, yet budget conscious traveller. Located in the middle of Cool district, the Witte de Withstraat, King Kong hostel has it's finger on the pulse of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your King Kong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Kong Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;