We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel right in the thick of the action” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Kong Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added King Kong Hostel to your Saves list
King Kong Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Witte de Withstraat 72, 3012 BS Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Cool)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Hostel right in the thick of the action”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

King Kong Hostel is an ideal budget option located on the lively Witte de Withstraat. When we visited in May it had only been open for a month or so but things ran very smoothly. The manager was very friendly and helped carry our bags up the stairs and moved us to a different room with a double bed - which was a nice gesture. And when we somehow managed to lock our keys in our locker the staff arranged for a pair of bolt cutters within the hour, which we really appreciated.

They do a cheap breakfast which you can have downstairs or take away and there's also a nice movie room with cinema screen, sofas and magazines. As well as all that they have a free tea/coffee machine where you can help yourself, and if you want the good stuff they also have a cafe out the front with quality baristas.

One thing worth noting: King Kong is situated on one of Rotterdam's busiest bar/club strips so expect some noise during the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa_Kokorina, Manager at King Kong Hostel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Sibien,

Thank you very much for this positive review! We do remember your funy story with locked keys! We warn our new guests, who purchase the locks, not to have the same accident, and every time we still giggle :)

But nothing is too much effort for our nice guests! We always try to deal fast with all guest requests, like this we provide a seamless service.

We would love to have you back soon! So if you decide to come back to Rotterdam, you are welcome to stay with us again!

Warm Regards,

King Kong Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
12
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

King Kong hostel is probably the best hostel in Rotterdam. It's located at the hearth of Rotterdam and in most hip street in the city, Witte de Withstraat. If you are looking for indie-vibes, and very cool cafe to hangout King Kong hostel is the place. The hostel has very spacious room for 4 (during my stay) and super comfy bed. Bathroom was great, services were superb and everything went smoothly during my stay.

To coffee person, King Kong hostel has the best cafe in the area for breakfast. Lunch and dinner too! I'll be coming back soon. Get your brewed beans in the house and start your day. Meet their cool baristas!

If you're a backpacker (and hipster :), this is the best place for you in Rotterdam. Great for your instagram feed pictures. Eccentric interior!

instagram @kerolizwan

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hostel breaths a mix of urban, playful and classy atmospheres. The hostel is located in the center of Rotterdam (Witte de Withstraat) where you can find many great bars and restaurants. A lot of major attractions are within walking distance. The hostel itself is very funky and modern, besides that the rooms and common areas are very clean. The staff is welcoming and very knowledgeable, especially the hot tall blond guy behind the bar. He is truly amazing and reflects a passion for Rotterdam which is contagious as hell. Thank you guys for letting us be the monkeys that we are!

Cheers,

The Sjoekies

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa_Kokorina, Manager at King Kong Hostel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Sjoekies,

What a wonderful reaction! Urban, playful and classy! That's what we love to hear.

Glad you have enjoyed your visit and please, spread the word out there! :)

We will look forward to welcoming you back at the King Kong hostel!

Warm Regards,

King Kong Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is really THE place to stay if you're going to Rotterdam ! The hostel is very well situated, on a lively street very close to the city center, the staff is very welcoming, the dorms are clean and quite originally furnished and the lounge and the kitchen are perfect to meet new people. I couldn't recommend it enough !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I recently took my first trip to Rotterdam, on business, and the King Kong hostel was recommended to me by a colleague (a gallerist) based in the city. I was pleased to find it located right in the heart of a very fun, trendy street (Witte de Withstraat) full of great cafes, bars, restaurants and galleries. The staff at King Kong were really helpful and friendly, while the building itself is very modern and well designed. It has a great lounge/cafe area at the front, with a full kitchen downstairs - and on the upper level a series of tables with plenty of power plugs & free wifi. The decor was excellent & felt much more like a boutique hotel than a hostel. The room was very clean and had a great desk for doing laptop work (including power sockets, a lamp & also working wifi); despite it looking over the active street below (with many great bars nearby) it wasn't noisy, and I slept soundly. Interestingly, each of the lockers provided for guests also has a power plug, so you can safely lock your electronics away & charge them at the same time! My particular room (for 4 people) also had its own dedicated toilet, and a separate shower and sink - so was very handy overall. There is a bar next door to King Kong that is very popular - while on the other side is a great restaurant. I enjoyed the stay (of 5 nights) very much and would definitely recommend it to travellers & also to business people, such as myself. It's very close to the city's main park & shopping district, the train station, and the harbour. Overall it was easily the best hostel I have ever stayed in (and, remarkably, very inexpensive given the amenities). I will definitely stay there when I return and would certainly recommend it to others!

Room Tip: The 4 person 'business' rooms are very good as they have their own toilet, as well as a sepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We booked twin bed room but we didn't know it's shared room until we reached. The room provided was located at the loft with curtain which gave us some privacy that we wanted, so we just accepted it. Overall this hostel is very clean & comfortable!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were a group of 16 in a university trip to Holland, so we pretty much had the entire upper floor on our own. The conditions are amazing, everything is clean. Near the kitchen (which had everything you would have at home), we could watch some movies or play karaoke while sitting on the comfortable puffs. And, la pièce de resitance, it was very well located within the city (at least for our interests which was mainly architecture) in one of the most crowded streets at night. Still, noise levels were cool and could take great night of sleep.

I would recommend it to anyone, specially to young people like us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Kong Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Kong Hostel

Address: Witte de Withstraat 72, 3012 BS Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Cool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — King Kong Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Kong brings an entirely new attitude to Rotterdam. This boutique hostel has an iconic urban style and is a choice of a sophisticated, yet budget conscious traveller. Located in the middle of Cool district, the Witte de Withstraat, King Kong hostel has it's finger on the pulse of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your King Kong Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Kong Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.