We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice industrial loft style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stroom

Save Saved
You added Stroom to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stroom
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lloydstraat 1, 3024 Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice industrial loft style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is clean and the staff friendly. The concept of a renovated industrial building is very well kept. All the areas and rooms are spacious with elements from the former power station, which makes it a unique place. The bar/restaurant in the same building is very nice. Because I travelled with more friends I could see several rooms: some of the studios are small and simple and can use some refreshing. Others are nicer. The split level studios are very good but slightly expensive for a hotel that is not in the city centre.

Room Tip: The studios can be very simple. The split level studios are much nicer and give more privacy, especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Göteborg
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I've been told there's a new owner, I found there was a massive improvement on my last stay, this time the room I was given was clean and the noise levels were lower. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I had been very hesitant booking with them again, but I'm happy I did and will return. Only thing that would be nice is 24hr room service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at Stroom for New Year's Eve, arrived earlier than check in time but after having a quick drink in the bar the friendly receptionist said our room was ready and we could check in nice and early. We had a studio room and it was absolutely spotless. Room had a double shower and large bath, a small issue with a leaking hand basin was dealt with quickly and efficiently by a lovely gentleman (May have been the manager) he was very apologetic and offered us a free drink at the bar for the inconvenience (not really an inconvenience to us and we didn't bother going to bar for a free drink)
I agree with some of the other reviews regarding the surrounding area of the hotel being rather run down but the hotel itself is good value and the staff couldn't be more lovely and will give you lots of good advice on places to go and transport etc.
I would return to Stroom again when next in Rotterdam

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Nice place. We had a duplex room. Design is minimalistic but very nice. Beds are wonderful and also the double shower is very large and very relaxing. Only negative points are that the room lacked a bedside lamp on both sides of the bed and the power sockets were places at an awkward place on the wall

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was here last April and it looked half deserted. The room in which we stayed was actually quite nice with a nice broad view and a cute, nice bath tub. But as soon as you stepped outside your room, you got a feeling of stepping into one of those spooky, deserted hotels from cheap american B horror movies. We found a big vacuum cleaner, left in the corridor, and when we got back two hours later, it was still there. They claimed to have a beautiful roof terrace but also here: dirty stuff and deserted. The hotel has some nice features like the glass elevator but all in all it can't hide from the feeling that they gave up all hope on this hotel. Pity, because somehow you have the idea that this hotel has got some potential. But maybe it's also the location, in the desolate quarter of Rotterdam, called Delfshaven; a poor neighbourhood with a slightly agressive atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin V, Owner at Stroom, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for reviewing STROOM Rotterdam. It will help us to improve this lovely place. Maybe you felt the same potential as we. Since September 2013 the hotel and restaurant are under new management. Our new team loves this place and step by step we are improving the restaurant and hotel. It will take some time, but the new STROOM is a truly new urban expercience.
With kind regards, Jantiene & Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Dinner Great. Room Weird but great. Breakfast Rubbish. Don't take Amex - Rubbish
Breakfast was put together by the reception/cafe staff. None of the chef's were around to prepare the breakfast that consisted of either bread, cereal and some limited hot dishes. Very basic breakfast...and dont ask for yoghurt...youwont get any.

Al international hotels you can pay with Amex...not this one. So will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin V, Owner at Stroom, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank your for reviewing our hotel. We have taken note of your comments and we have improved our breakfast. Starting from November there is a chef to prepare your egg-any-style in the morning between 7:00 and 11:00 AM. We are sorry you were not completely satisfied. But please try us again. Since September the hotel has new management. The new owners will improve the hotel step-by-step. The restaurant has already a new and more open character. Since December we opened our own Bakery & Espressobar in STROOM Rotterdam.
With kind regards,
Jantiene & Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stroom

Address: Lloydstraat 1, 3024 Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stroom 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STROOM Rotterdam is a small luxury boutique hotel in Rotterdam. Here you can find your Urban Experience. The hotel, lounge and restaurant are created in a former energy plant. The rooms are well-known for their giant bathrooms and their very comfortable Coco-Mat beds. The hotel features well prices Studio's, exiting Split Level Studio's and large Urban Lofts. This hotel has new management since September of 2013. The new team in STROOM will give you a truly new experience. Please check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Stroom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stroom Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.