We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stroom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stroom to your Saves list
Stroom
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lloydstraat 1, 3024 Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed at Stroom for New Year's Eve, arrived earlier than check in time but after having a quick drink in the bar the friendly receptionist said our room was ready and we could check in nice and early. We had a studio room and it was absolutely spotless. Room had a double shower and large bath, a small issue with a leaking hand basin was dealt with quickly and efficiently by a lovely gentleman (May have been the manager) he was very apologetic and offered us a free drink at the bar for the inconvenience (not really an inconvenience to us and we didn't bother going to bar for a free drink)
I agree with some of the other reviews regarding the surrounding area of the hotel being rather run down but the hotel itself is good value and the staff couldn't be more lovely and will give you lots of good advice on places to go and transport etc.
I would return to Stroom again when next in Rotterdam

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Nice place. We had a duplex room. Design is minimalistic but very nice. Beds are wonderful and also the double shower is very large and very relaxing. Only negative points are that the room lacked a bedside lamp on both sides of the bed and the power sockets were places at an awkward place on the wall

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was here last April and it looked half deserted. The room in which we stayed was actually quite nice with a nice broad view and a cute, nice bath tub. But as soon as you stepped outside your room, you got a feeling of stepping into one of those spooky, deserted hotels from cheap american B horror movies. We found a big vacuum cleaner, left in the corridor, and when we got back two hours later, it was still there. They claimed to have a beautiful roof terrace but also here: dirty stuff and deserted. The hotel has some nice features like the glass elevator but all in all it can't hide from the feeling that they gave up all hope on this hotel. Pity, because somehow you have the idea that this hotel has got some potential. But maybe it's also the location, in the desolate quarter of Rotterdam, called Delfshaven; a poor neighbourhood with a slightly agressive atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin V, Owner at Stroom, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for reviewing STROOM Rotterdam. It will help us to improve this lovely place. Maybe you felt the same potential as we. Since September 2013 the hotel and restaurant are under new management. Our new team loves this place and step by step we are improving the restaurant and hotel. It will take some time, but the new STROOM is a truly new urban expercience.
With kind regards, Jantiene & Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Dinner Great. Room Weird but great. Breakfast Rubbish. Don't take Amex - Rubbish
Breakfast was put together by the reception/cafe staff. None of the chef's were around to prepare the breakfast that consisted of either bread, cereal and some limited hot dishes. Very basic breakfast...and dont ask for yoghurt...youwont get any.

Al international hotels you can pay with Amex...not this one. So will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwin V, Owner at Stroom, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank your for reviewing our hotel. We have taken note of your comments and we have improved our breakfast. Starting from November there is a chef to prepare your egg-any-style in the morning between 7:00 and 11:00 AM. We are sorry you were not completely satisfied. But please try us again. Since September the hotel has new management. The new owners will improve the hotel step-by-step. The restaurant has already a new and more open character. Since December we opened our own Bakery & Espressobar in STROOM Rotterdam.
With kind regards,
Jantiene & Edwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stroom

Address: Lloydstraat 1, 3024 Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Stroom 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STROOM Rotterdam is a small luxury boutique hotel in Rotterdam. Here you can find your Urban Experience. The hotel, lounge and restaurant are created in a former energy plant. The rooms are well-known for their giant bathrooms and their very comfortable Coco-Mat beds. The hotel features well prices Studio's, exiting Split Level Studio's and large Urban Lofts. This hotel has new management since September of 2013. The new team in STROOM will give you a truly new experience. Please check us out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stroom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stroom Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stroom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.