We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, staff sucks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Arendshoeve

Save Saved
You added De Arendshoeve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Arendshoeve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Molenlaan 14 | Bergambacht, 2861 LB Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights - €59 per night
Ranked #9 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, staff sucks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The first night after some dutch holidays, not busy at all. I think there were only three tables occupied in the restaurant, 2 times a single (business) guy and us, as family. We counted two waiters and a floor manager, so all together 1 person to wait each table. You could expect decent service, but no, none at all.

Normally when order a bottle of wine, waiters let you test and pour, none at all. Only at the time the food arrived the floor manager decided to pour. Funny. Food was excellent, kitchen staff know their job, people on the floor not. I would sack them all the I become their boss. A pity.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron P, Eigenaar at De Arendshoeve, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Highly respected guest,
Thank you for your feedback on our performance. Reviews of our guests are so important because we are responsible directly and we can act immediately on a better way. I have chosen not to lay off our employees but to improve their performance.
To encourage, motivate and evaluate our staff we discuss all the reviews of our guests weekly. In this way, our employees are aware of their work performance and we as a management do see a change in attitude and behavior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    36
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
43
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night, with a large, corner room that got lots of light. The furnishings were simple, but did the job. Others in our group reported that their bathrooms also lacked tissue. The large bathroom had a walk-in shower in the corner which led to water splashing out into the room. As there was no bath mat, we just spread an extra towel on the floor to serve that function and avoid the slippery part of the wet floor. So, it's a nice, simple place and one shouldn't expect all the usual ammenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron P, Owner at De Arendshoeve, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
thank you for the time you have taken to assess our performance. Since guests report their observations or comments to us, it gives us the opportunity to improve our service. During your visit, we were in a start-up phase, the hotel was for our acquisition for 8 months a care hotel. Lack of patients is the reason that it went bankrupt.

Past period, we started working with your comments. Amminities are plentiful name it and we have it. bathroom textiles also been considerably expanded and the mat to prevent slipping

With regard to the wellness area, this we have extended with a complete fitness room and there is also a beauty department added.

In short, too many to mention, we would like to welcome you on your next visit.
You'll then have to agree that with the word "simple" is not the right word for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This hotel is situated in the middle of the countryside, with a lovely historic windmill in the middle of the property, and is a short distance from Gouda and Rotterdam. The room was clean and comfortable, with the added bonus of electric, articulated beds for extra comfort. The buffet breakfast was very nice, the Wellness Centre was good with a reasonably sized pool, great hot tub and sauna.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Arendshoeve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Arendshoeve

Address: Molenlaan 14 | Bergambacht, 2861 LB Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Arendshoeve 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tasteful gatherings at ArendshoeveLooking for a peaceful location for a meeting, business conference, seminar or training session? At the four-star Arendshoeve hotel, our modern facilities are sure to bring inspiration to your gathering. We are eager to offer you the use of our professionally equipped facilities for your event.Meeting facilities in the heart of the countrysideArendshoeve is located in the heart of the Krimpenerwaard, a stone’s throw from the Randstad region. In this oasis of peace and quiet, you can think outside the box. We offer the ideal setting forspecial business gatherings, from large events to private meetings and from standard services to fully customised: we take care of every last detail.Effort and relaxationWhatever issues are being discussed during your meeting, you can work effectively towards a solutionwith the right balance between effort and relaxation. At Arendshoeve, we stimulate both body and mind. This includes a delicious, well-balanced lunch or dinner in our brasserie. You can also get re-energised in our spa and wellness centre or find ultimate relaxation while spending the night in one of our spacious rooms and suites. Naturally, you can also take advantage of all the countrysidearound Arendshoeve has to offer. We offer business guests a variety of outdoor activities.Tasteful business facilities in the KrimpenerwaardFrom large to small groups and from one-day to several-day programmes, we offer a variety of package deals to ensure the success of your business gathering in the countryside, each of which is tasteful, professional and inspiring. We are happy to be of service.See you at the Arendshoeve!Your host, Ron Pelgrim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, Agoda and Venere so you can book your De Arendshoeve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Arendshoeve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.