We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very stylish, love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of citizenM Rotterdam

Save Saved
You added citizenM Rotterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gelderse Plein 50, 3011 WZ Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdriehoek)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Become a citizen!
Ranked #2 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent location, very stylish, love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I am glad that I picked this hotel after reading reviews on tripadvisor. With affordable price, I got all I need. It's in an excellent location - 2 minutes walk from the Rotterdam Blaak station (Pay attention to the sign. I used google map and it directed me to a more difficult way to get to the hotel). The famous cube houses are also 2 minutes away.

I got a warm welcome message and a free drink once I got into the room. The king size bed was very clean comfortable. The room was a bit small but with this price and location I have no complaints.

The entire hotel was very modern and stylish. If I was not going for a trip, I could just sit in the lobby or bar area for the whole day and felt very relaxing.

The only trouble is from the street to the door I needed to walk through a flagstone path. I dragged my spinning luggage in and out and the front wheels got damaged. Hopefully it can be replaced in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    44
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
102
17
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed for one night with a friend in one of their double rooms. The beds are huge, and the rooms equipped with a Samsung Tab that basically controls your entire room: the curtains, the lights, the tv, the color of the lights in the shower etc.

+ Insane value! The hotel is as central as they get, and the high standard of pretty much anything makes it worth the while and money. Me and my friend walked around the city for quite a bit just to scan the area for cheaper/better hotels, and out of the tenfolds we found, there was no better option.
+ Free wifi (quite good as well, 25/8 mb), bathroom accessories, free TV/films (of quite recent date) and tonnes of porn at your disposition, just enjoying an evening on the huge king size bed is an experience in itself.
+ We got two free drinks at the bar, or well actually 4 because the bartender was nice enough to make them doubles, which is a value of ~20 euros.
+ Nice lounge with state of the art iMacs at your disposal with a functional printer that came in handy for our sake.

- No proper reception, just a desk with computers and debit card machines with staff semi present.
- Elevator was a bit weird, three panels that are quite confusing.
- No gym/pool or offers for activites of any kind, could make for the perfect hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is very stylish decorated, all the common areas have iconic design pieces, where they create different kinds of spaces, and you always find an area that suits better your need. The room wasn't big but it was very smart organised, with storage under the bed. The bed taking all the space from wall to wall, but with the big window that looks really nice. The breakfast was also very good, mainly with local products. The location is also very convenient. It's right next to the modern part of the city. There is a metro and train station right at the door. And night life (restaurants and bars) is also 5 to 10 minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I'd recommend citizen m to anyone looking for a modern hotel unlike your standard traditional hotels. The hobby or 'living rooms' are chic with comfy sofas. We even got a voucher for 2 free drinks when we checked in! We loved our room. It was clean and has everything you need for a short break. The tablet was a nice touch with free Internet.

Highly recommended. I'd not hesitate staying at other citizen m hotels in the world!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent a night here for a business trip, but still I don't know if I love or hate it.
Room was pretty small, with bed covering completely the side near the window. Technology wae everywhere: motorized sunshades, tablet controllet light and television and a nice RGB light inside the transparent bathroom.
Clean and nice, but I was feeling like inside a Terry Gilliam movie.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed our time. The staff is very pleasant, and the area is perfect for the tourist/traveler. The rooms are tiny, but we didn't need anything else and enjoyed the adventure. The technology included in the room kept my husband entertained. :) Note the "mood lighting" in the shower. The living room on the main floor is a great place in the evenings to enjoy a drink or surprisingly tasty dinner. Be forewarned, however, if you are conservative or easily offended, because some of the paintings and art are a bit "out there."

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

great location in oude haven, great staff and perfect for single traveler...but a bit small for a couple. comfortable king size bed takes up lots of floor space, huge windows bring the light and harbor in and common areas are spacious and welcoming.

Room Tip: request a high floor overlooking harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to citizenM Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM Rotterdam

Address: Gelderse Plein 50, 3011 WZ Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM Rotterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
citizenM Rotterdam is located at Oude Haven of Rotterdam. Savvy citizens can enjoy affordable, yet luxuriously appointed, accommodations right in the city center. Every square inch has been constructed with your ease in mind, without sacrificing any luxuries. Free Wi-Fi for your enjoyment, 2-minute check-in/out, food & beverage available 24/7, oh, and the genius tablet mood pad in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsNL, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your citizenM Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage citizenM Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.