We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't look very animal friendly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rotterdam Zoo

Rotterdam Zoo
Blijdorplaan 8, 3041 JE Rotterdam, The Netherlands
+31 900 1857
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 133 things to do in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Doesn't look very animal friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Lion pen was too small, giraffes were too short, camel's hump was soft and it looked depressed. I was taken there on a date, and perhaps it's because I'm used to animals in the wild, but animals in captivity just look very depressing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    295
    39
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Too expensive!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We went there by public transport via Delft taking the bus and it was a long way to get to the entrance. We were a bit shocked when we saw the entrance fee that was €21 p.p but once inside it was a huge zoo. The oceans part was amazing, my favorite part of the zoo. We spent hours walking from one part to another. In general it was a fun place if you love animals.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Rotterdam Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Liked: nice grounds, and diverse collection of animals. Enjoyed the visit.
Disliked: tigers in cages. Dont think zoos should keep tigers etc.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very nice for a city zoo, but it's still a zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The zoo is nice in the variety and the underwater part.
However it is still a zoo and you see that some animals would be better off in the wild or in larger areas.
I would recommend instead to go to Emmen Zoo, as there the animals seem to have more freedom and it was very nice to see. Or even better, go to nature instead of a zoo.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall good time in zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice place to see, but need more than 5 hours to fully cover the place. I would advise to visit the place during summer as they are so active, otherwise they are also so sleepy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotterdam Zoo also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Rotterdam Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotterdam Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.