We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvements Required” 4 of 5 stars
Review of nhow Rotterdam

Save Saved
You added nhow Rotterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
nhow Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wilhelminakade 137, 3072 AP Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #7 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Improvements Required”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Without this sounding like a list I want to simply point out hopefully to management what changes or improvements I think the hotel could use to their own benefit. The Mirror/TV is great but only if you want to watch it at night as is not possible during daylight. The remote with mouse pointer is ridiculous and a normal simple remote would be better. There are insufficient towel hooks in the bathroom. The shower floods the entire bathroom. I love the glass cube type bathroom set up though. the pillows for the bed are poor but having stayed in five different hotels in The Netherlands in the past 4 weeks it appears to be the norm everywhere. The sheets and duvet mind you were terrific. Your toiletries in the bathroom are magnificent. The shower head in our shower did not work and simply dribbled out. Rubbish. The safe was not attached to the wall or anything for that matter. Good mini fridge selection as well as tea and coffee thank you although the beer expired this June. No wifi in the hotel except something called swisscom which did not work anywhere. All in all a very comfortable room if you don't mind showering in front of your partner and don't need TV. Great views from the 21st floor where we were and very good curtains to block out the light.
Now to Breakfast. What a fantastic display of good good good variety and choice. Well done. We loved our breakfasts on all three mornings and rate it as the very best buffet breakfast we have had in Holland and probably ever.The bar area on the 7th floor and having the opportunity to go outside and take in the view is wonderful of course.Finally the staff were all particularly pleasant and happy and helpful. I would recommend the hotel and will certainly go back and honestly the bathroom issues didn't bother me but they certainly will some and especially elderly individuals would find the bathroom dangerous after a shower I think.

Room Tip: Two sides to choose from. Sunrise you get the morning sun but a limited view looking away from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    32
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
50
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beveren, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have stayed a weekend at NHow Rotterdam! What a nice hotel! Perfect rooms, clean, modern, trendy and with a lot of facilities, as free wifi, nespresso machine etc! The late breakfast we had on Sunday (till 12.00 o'clock) was great, a lof choices! The service in the hotel was so good, everybody was friendly, always a great help when we had some questions about where to go and what to do! I really advice everybody who is going to Rotterdam, to stay at the Nhow Rotterdam!

Room Tip: Perfect location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Nhow is extremely modern in design, very minimal but where do you put your clothes and suit cases? Only about 50cm hanging space in wardrobe and you have to leave your suitcase on the floor. No mirror in a practical place. The shower floods the rest of the bathroom. We also encountered problems with electrical sockets coming off the wall, the TV not working and numerous trips to the reception to get room key re activated having been stuck in lift and unable to access room. House keeping removed the soap but did not replace it, coffee & water not replenished. However, the staff are friendly & accommodating, hotel needs a womans touch. Would consider staying here again if the problems we encountered are rectified

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Mr Rick van Schijndel was so kind as to show us a couple of rooms. Those at the back also have a pleasant view, but having the Erasmusbridge at your feet is something of a thrill. Sleeping in a Koolhaas building somehow feels quite grande…So don't hesitate !

Room Tip: ask for 'Maas view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed with one of my sons at Rotterdam nhow Hotel for one night. At first view, the hotel is certainly impressive. You enter a hall with an immensely high ceiling, which makes you think of a large modern church; reception is friendly and efficient. The room (sunrise) is peculiar with a bathroom that is large but devoid of bathtub: difficult to understand as the shower is inserted in a cubicle, and one wonders what the large remaining area is designed for. Magnificent view and excellent bed, but we could not find a method to manage the huge television. As for the restaurant, we experienced a nice American-style lunch and a decent buffet breakfast.
This hotel is either unfinished or designed for architecture and not for guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NhowRotterdam, Guest Relations Manager at nhow Rotterdam, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Pierre,

Thank you for your review! It's intereseting to read how people experience our builidng and their stay in our hotel.That's how we improve!

About the TV: Sometimes we have some troubles with the television. It's a very new technology and the remote control is sometimes hard to handle. Next time if you experience something like this, please call the reception desk so we can help you manage.
We are an architecture and art hotel, so I can imagine it's not what you're used to! About the bathrooms: We have spacious bathroooms, and only the bathrooms in the urban rooms are provided with a bath, that's correct.

Once again: thank you for your review! And I hope we may welcome you again at our hotel when you visit Rotterdam again.

Gertie Bax
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a conference in April 2014 a few months after it opened.
The design of the building is amazing and incredible, as is the internal design of the rooms and common areas.
The rooms are very modern with coffee machine, smart TV and comfortable bed and bathroom.
Breakfast is wide and varied and the hotel also has a trendy bar (busy at weekends) and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NhowRotterdam, Guest Relations Manager at nhow Rotterdam, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Google Translation
Beste SLM_Malta,

Bedankt voor je geweldige review! Fijn om te lezen dat alles naar wens is geweest, en we je een fijn verblijf hebben kunnen geven. We hebben steeds meer zakelijke gasten in het hotel, en het uitzicht en de kamers zorgen dan toch voor wat extra comfort tijdens deze vaak lange werkdagen. Hopelijk mogen we je wederom begroeten als je nog eens in Rotterdam bent, zowel zakelijk als prive!

Met vriendelijke groet,

Gertie Bax
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We booked the Sunset room.

View was amazing and bed was very comfortable.

There were a few downsides though: No showergel, tv in mirror reflects too much so you cant watch it with the curtains open, noise from the trains/tram outside (we were on the 23rd floor so did not expect that), Worst of all for me is that no one told me that the minibar was free - apparently at check in someone is supposed to walk with you to the room and explain all this-this was not done. TV also did not work and it took a long time and two phone calls for someone to come up and help.

The bar on the 7th floor has nice views but no virgin cocktails!? and when I asked the barman to make me one he was not at all helpful and suggested a virgin mojito which was just 2 euros cheaper and basically sparkly water and mint leaves - WHAT A RIP OFF

Breakfast was a bit chaotic and I have had better - nevertheless the quality and variety of dishes was decent.

Very nice design hotel but staff is friendly (at times) but quite inefficient (at times).
A shame as it is a beautiful hotel with amazing views.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NhowRotterdam, Guest Relations Manager at nhow Rotterdam, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Cecee,

Thank you for your review and your honesty, I really appreciate that!
We are an upcoming hotel and there are some maintenance issues about the television, so I'm glad that you gave us your feedback, so we can improve! Maybe we can talk about this in detail? I would like to ask you if you could send me an e-mail: g.bax @ nhow-hotels. com so I can hear your whole story.

Thank you!

Gertie Bax
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to nhow Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nhow Rotterdam

Address: Wilhelminakade 137, 3072 AP Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — nhow Rotterdam 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your nhow Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage nhow Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.