We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels I've ever seen...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Ani & Haakien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostel Ani & Haakien to your Saves list
Hostel Ani & Haakien
Coolsestraat 47 - 49, 3014 LC Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best hostels I've ever seen...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

During our interrailtour me and my buddy Hendrik decided to stay at "Ani&Haakien" in Rotterdam - the one and only hostel we booked before starting our tour. What a good luck we did so!
First you have to say that the owners - Joyce and Daniela (hopefully I spelled it right way) - are both absolutely nice. They are always helpful and you get the impression that it's important for them that you feel welcome at their place. It doesn't seem like checking in in a hostel but as if you were staying in a living community for a few days. There's a big kitchen you are allowed to use (quite important for students without much money, who need to cook sometimes I think), a terrace outside and something like a big living room with chairs and so on, where you can relax after an exhausting day.
The price is also a good argument to spend the nights during your stay in Rotterdam at "Ani&Haakien". In comparison to other hostels you get a clean room, breakfast and great service for only 18 € (six bed room).
I think it's obvious that we both were highly amazed by this hostel and if there was the possibility we would have stayed there one more night on our way back. So... if you plan to visit Rotterdam and you need some place to rest go to "Ani&Haakien".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yannic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Me and my bud were stuck for a place and chanced on Ani & Haakien. The owner/staff Joyce is absolutely lovely. She helped us out with transport when we messed it up, and gave us a heads up on the best club I've ever been to. Amazing music wafting through the place. Comfy beds. Clean. Beautiful. Thanks! See you again!
Pete

Room Tip: All rooms are nice I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

stayed here for a week and it was a great place the staff are really friendly and helpful and there is a big kitchen to cook in order to save money on eating out. Its really friendly and the beds are comfy too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jess b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I really enjoyed to stay in Ani&Haakien for all my 13 days. It has a cozy atmosphere all-around. Daniele and Joyce are doing a great job managing the hostel and you can feel the heart and effort put in this place. Lots of it has been constructed from recycled materials and all I can say is well done! There is a back garden with a hammock to chill in. A room for yoga lessons is also coming in the near future. I am already looking forward to coming back soon and I would recommend it to any traveler.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandras88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A really nice place to stay! It's near Rotterdam Central Station so easy to reach when you get off the airport bus. The owners have created a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. There's a large kitchen where you can make breakfast, a garden to catch up with other travellers and a living room with some very interesting pieces of furniture. The place is brandnew so everything is still nice and clean. If I ever come on a late flight again, I won't hesitate and walk to Ani&Haakien.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne-Marie-Praag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#7 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Rotterdam
#5 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#4 of 53 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Ani & Haakien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Ani & Haakien

Address: Coolsestraat 47 - 49, 3014 LC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hostel Location in Rotterdam! Hostel Ani&Haakien is a backpackers paradise for adventurous travelers who want to discover Rotterdam in a truly unique way. We are a community hostel with nightly dinners and free tours daily! Located just 600m away from Rotterdam Central Station, Ani & Haakien is a short walk from Rotterdam's most popular attractions such as Markthall and the famous Cube Houses! You won't find us on a busy bar street - at Ani&Haakien you'll get a good night's sleep - But no worries, the young and bustling Central District area of Rotterdam with good coffee places, awesome design shops, rooftop bars, jazz and the electronic night life is just a dance away! So, forget about walking around with your heavy backpack... drop it at the hostel, and let us tell you all about the cool stuff to do in Rotterdam. Hostel Ani & Haakien is the perfect hub for day trips! Just 10min to Delft / 40min to Amsterdam / 40min to Utrecht and 20min to The Hague! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Ani & Haakien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing