We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location with reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weena 121, 3013 CK Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing location with reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is near the Central Station and it is just 5 mins walk away from the station. It was very easy for us to get around Rotterdam. the room was very clean and modern and the bed was really comfortable . Breakfast was included with our stay and it was quite good with different kind of food and drinks. the most important is the price is relatively low compare with the hotel which is located nearby! I have a great night after the long flight! the staff is really helpful and polite. I will definely recommand this hotel to my friend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wonderful to read you enjoyed the hotel, the bed, the room, the cleanliness in our hotel, the free breakfast offered and the price quality we offer as a Holiday Inn Express hotel.Thank you for recommending us, we appreciate your business and loyalty.

Warm regards,
Marijn Neelen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    133
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
21
104
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

great hotel for proximity to station which means can use the metro and train lines easily ..

room is quite plain but nice and clean and coffee etc etc ..
found the room chilly and the air system does not turn off , a bit noisy .

however good value all considered and good location if you dont mind a walk to the river area s..nearer to the river would be my preferred next time ..

but still a nice hotel - safe clean new and sensible ..

Room Tip: face the main road to watch the trams and day to day life ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Anthony-Minnis,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. We apologize for the experience you had with your in-room Air-Conditioner. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Walked to/from hotel from Central Station with luggage (5 -10 mins). Smooth check-in/check-out. Reception staff friendly and helpful. A broad range of foods at breakfast, which was included in room price.
The hotel is very new, and has been maintained as fresh and clean. We shared two interconnecting rooms with our teens, which worked well. Plenty of room for everyone. Wifi strong.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to have the honor of serving you and your family again should your travels bring you back to Rotterdam.

With kind regards,

Marijn Neelen - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Really nice and clean hotel.
Rather quiet, so your sleep won't get disturbed, but it's still quite centrally located.
Service is quite friendly, so I cannot complain about that.

The entrance however is hard to find, but that's because the hotel is located on the first floor in a building, meaning there's no big door signalling there's a hotel.

Also the breakfast buffet is, to be frank, horrible. Yes, you'll get fed, but that's really it.
Everything is basically just store bought and then put out for the residents to consume.
Heck, even the coffee is horrendous!

Overall though, it's a nice place, but if a good breakfast is important to you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night and was positively surprised.
The hotel looks new or at least newly renovated and is situated right in the city center.
The room was small but well equipped, including coffee and tea facilities.
The bathroom had a big shower.
Furthermore the complementary breakfast was very nice. I have seen worse buffets at places where you have to pay extra.
Internet was also free and easy to connect.
The employees were all extremely friendly and helpful.
I can totally recommend this place if you look for a place to sleep in rotterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive comments on Tripadvisor.

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes me happy to read that you were positively surprised. It is also great to read that you experienced our staff as extremely friendly and helpful.

Again, thank you for your comments, I look forward to personally welcome you back in the hotel.

With kind regards,
Marijn Neelen - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights in August 2013. Travelling by motorcycle so availability of underground car park was useful for peace of mind. If you are in a car, its even more essential as there is limited parking close by. Room and facilities were as you would expect - perfectly functional and clean. No real road noise in the room. Breakfast completely self service and not as much choice or quality as in more expensive hotels (eg, very little fresh fruit on offer, and limited hot items). Location is good for the main bars and restaurants to the south, and also close to the main railway station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIEXRotterdamCS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your wonderful review. It is always nice to read our guests appreciating the location and facilities we offer in the midst of Rotterdam. I hope you continued to have a great trip on your motorcycle and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Ms. Marijn Neelen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We decided to choose this budget hotel to save money - big mistake! While the room looked decent enough, that is clean, cheap and cheerful, when we tried to lower the room temperature we were dismayed to discover that the thermostat wouldn't go below 19C which is too warm for a comfortable night's sleep. The air conditioning provided a cool blast for a while but then cut out, so we phoned to ask the receptionist and she confirmed that 19C was the lowest temperature. We decided to cut our losses and go to the hotel we usually choose but on attempting to check out the manager tried to engage us in a "management-speak" discussion (not wanted, I can assure you) while we just wanted to leave. However, my husband stuck with it and did get a partial refund. But - beware - the 'cooling' listed in their brochure isn't really what you'd expect but just a budget hotel gimmick (to 'condition' the air, as the manager put it!!!).

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Jen L,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very pleased that you liked our breakfast and that you were satisfied with the room accommodation.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with our air conditioning system and deeply regret that this has negatively affected your sleep during your stay.

Your experience is definitely not reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves with. As such, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements where possible. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station

Address: Weena 121, 3013 CK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam – Central Station is perfectly located in the heart of Rotterdam. Whether you are visiting Rotterdam for business or leisure purposes, this hotel is your place to be!The hotel is located next to the central station of Rotterdam in close vicinity of the main shopping area of the city the Koopgoot and on the corner of the Hofplein and Coolsingel. Large companies such as Nationale Nederlanden, ING, Unilever, Houthoff Buruma and the Holland Casino Rotterdam are all on walking distance. The hotel has the perfect location for every purpose.The sound proof, well furbished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with 50 international channels, free wireless Internet, coffee/tea facilities and a spacious shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast. The hotel offers a modern decorated lobby and bar, where our guests feel at ease and can relax with friends and colleagues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Rotterdam - Central Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.