We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* city break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mainport Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mainport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mainport Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leuvehaven 77, 3011 EA Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdriehoek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“5* city break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I've just spent 7 nights at Mainport. It's a well run 5* hotel with first rate staff (especially on reception) and facilities. The rooms have the little luxury extras including a bathtub/Jacuzzi and toiletries etc. My only gripe was the shower was too small with no door, however this is a minor complaint. There's a generous breakfast buffet to suit all tastes, and the hotel is perfectly located - next to the Erasmus Bridge and near to several museums. There's a metro stop right outside the hotel and you can buy a 7 Euro day pass at reception. The Spido harbour boat company is also a short walk away (before the bridge) as well as several decent restaurants a 5 - 10 minute walk - I'd recommend 'Rodin'. As a guest at Mainport you have access to Spa Heaven and I would highly recommend a treatment with either Sharmilla or Liliane. Both are excellent and dedicated to their work. They have a real energy and have an intuitive sense of what you need. I hope Mainport retain their services as they are both a real asset. All in all, well worth a long weekend break to get away from it all and pamper yourself.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Mr. Hunter, dear Phil,
Wow, thank you very much for your great review of your stay at Mainport.
We are very pleased that you have chosen Mainport to stay at for 7 nights and enjoying it so fully. We truly look forward welcoming you back soon!
I will pass on your compliments to Sharmila and Liliane. They are absolutely talented and very passionate about their work. They are part of a great team of masseuses and beauty specialists of our Spa Heaven which we are very proud of. Thank you for given us that beautiful feedback!
With kind regards,
Simone van der Veen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    51
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
96
6
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The mainport hotel is brandnew and an excellent hotel. It is very modern and very clean.
The room is large with a beautiful bathroom and comfortable spacious bed. The room also offers an expresso machine and enough candy bars. Unfortunately if you allergic to nuts, you have an issue. One tip, please also offer candy bars without nuts!
Excellent service at the frontdesk and the staff at the restaurant and bar is friendly and very well trained and professional. Breakfast simply good.
Summarized, a very pleasant stay and w'll be back.
One remark. Parking !! Is a nightmare

Room Tip: Great top class hotel for a fair price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Bart,

Thank you for your stay at Mainport and from this beautiful review I can make up that you fully enjoyed it.
I am very sorry that the parking was a nightmare for your. Being in the middle of busy Rotterdam this can be difficult. To assist our guests we arranged information on the 2 options for parking. The first is valet parking where you can place the car in front of the hotel and the porter will park it for you in one of the garages. The 2nd option is to park the car in one of the 2 Erasmusbridge parking garages which are on a 2 minutes walking distance. On our website there is a route map how to get there. Maybe this information helps you when you are coming back to stay at Mainport!
Thank you for the tip on the candy bars. I will look into the possibilities of adding or replacing a bar with one without nuts.
With kind regards,
Simone van der Veen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night in Nov 2013 for a business trip.
Hotel location is central and walking distance to shops, restaurants, museums etc.
The building is very modern and very clean.
I had a sauna waterfront room. Nice size room with lovely views across the water. The bathroom was beautiful, with walkin shower, spa bath, SAUNA and tv built into the mirror.
Breakfast was very good.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
CANNOT FAULT THIS HOTEL. If you are looking for a hotel in Rotterdam and can afford it, STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Paul,

WOW, best hotel ever! We are very proud to read your lovely review on your stay at Mainport!
I wil make sure to pass on your compliments to our staff!
We have done our utmost to offer hotel facilities and hotelrooms that suit both guests visiting Rotterdam for leisure and our Bussiness related guests. I am very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay during your business trip and we look forward welcoming you back in your new "home away from home".
With kind regards
Simone van der Veen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Really couldn't fault this place on any front. Top class service throughout and impeccable rooms/suites. Really good value for money. Excellent location for a stroll into town to take in the sights of a massively underrated city.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As usual, with Inntel hotel next door or now this hotel, no parking space available - never once managed to park there in several stays!
Check-in fine and room on 10th floor.
Room was OK size, but much too dark for my liking. Although the computer desk in my room had a low energy lamp, I struggled to see the keyboard on my laptop.
Bathroom entrance had a step which I kept stubbing my toe on. Shower didn't have a curtain/door so water poured out onto bathroom floor.
Separate WC, had automatic lighting with a time sensor which operated when you opened the glass door. Going for a pee in the middle of the night was annoying because the light stayed on for around 5 minutes after you'd finished.
No place to put your suitcase - had to leave it on the floor!
Shampoo...etc was perfumed which meant a rash if I used it.
In conclusion, this would be a wonderful hotel for couples on vacation - the spa bath being a good size and the dark room being a bonus, however, for business people, there are just too many disadvantages.
Next time I'll stick with 'sister' hotel next door.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear guest,

FIrst of all I would like to express my sincere apologies for disappointment you felt after your stay.
The hotel is very new and we are still improving our facilities, standards and service. Therefore your review is very important to us!
The hotel offers a gateway to different continents where every floor has their own colours, decorations, design furniture and lamps. I can assure you that we can find a different floor where decoration and lighting better suits your expectations.
I would appreciate to get in contact with you to find out more about your expactations as a business guest and the roomnumber you have last stayed in to fix the issues you mentioned.
With kind regards
Simone van der Veen
(info@mainporthotel.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I've stayed twice in this hotel during the fall of 2013 and I must say - WOW! Really really love this hotel and will sure try to come back many times. It's convenient located just in front of the subway station and then it's about 2-3 stations to the central city of Rotterdam. You can also walk to the city from the hotel, it's not that far, maybe 20-30 minutes. We stayed both times in a "King city room". The rooms are so fresh and clean and very spacious, you really just want to stay in the room all day long. The bathroom is also very big with both a large shower and a bubble bath! On the 8th floor there is a large spa area with many different saunas, pools, gym and solarium. I also booked a massage for 1 hour and it was so nice. Downstairs there is a bar and a restaurant with nice food. The only thing I can complain about is that the service in the restaurant was very slow that night, took us almost 3 hours to complete a one course dinner.
I really look forward to the next vacation at this hotel, it's a truly 5 star hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Beautiful Hotel and nice back drop, close to all amenities and somewhere i would highly recommend others to stay. Hopefully i will return soon, The large spacious room consisted of a few bonus items including jacuzzi bath, tv in the mirror. Luxury bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDMgr_InntelHotels, Rooms Division Manager at Mainport Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review on Tripadvisor.
I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed a couple of the "perks" that we already offer from our first roomtype: The whirlpool bath and the tv in the bathroom mirror.
I look forward welcoming you back again in Mainport in the near future!

Kind regards,
Simone van der Veen
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mainport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainport Hotel

Address: Leuvehaven 77, 3011 EA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Stadsdriehoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mainport Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL and Otel so you can book your Mainport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mainport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.