We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Student Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Student Hotel Rotterdam to your Saves list
The Student Hotel Rotterdam
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   Oostzeedijk 182, 3063 BM Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stylish hotel minutes from city centre with the most helpful staff I've seen in a very long time! Very accommodating, polite and professional.

There is even a kitchenette in the room with a fridge, microwave and a cooker! How amazing is that?!?!?!

Proper water pressure in the spacious bathroom, very comfortable bed, more than adequate selection of channels on the television, and they even threw in a pair of stylish sunglasses!

Simply brilliant!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
thank you brilliant feedback. We are opening this September in Amsterdam so hopefully you can visit us there as well one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
14
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff was really nice and helpful, both at the reception and in the restaurant. The latter offers great breakfast and delicious dinner in a relaxed atmosphere. The room was also nice and quite big. I would have loved to stay longer and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very nice location and design: nicely decorated and well-equipped rooms. Cool for a short stay but definitely not for a long stay. The customer service is null . Staff working at the reception do not show any interest in helping you out to solve problems regarding the facilities . I have been living at The Student Hotel Rotterdam for more than six months and I have spend half of my time complaining about problems with my room (such as a water leaks from the bathroom that were not repaired for more than three weeks...etc.) and trying to have the devices in our shared kitchen repaired: dishwasher, fridge, ...(even if they are all new they were at first rapidly installed and they break down every now and then, taking them a lifetime to repair them). When I arrived the kitchen was full of garbage, which I had to clean myself and my room had not been cleaned either. And the solution they gave to me: well, we are sorry, you can do it yourself....not acceptable at all!!!. I strongly do not recommend this place. I have had enough of it; fortunately my contract is over!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pit B, General Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are sorry to hear you had a unhappy experience with us. Indeed we experienced some issues with equipment at the opening last year. We had hoped that all these issues had been resolved but apparently we missed some, for this we apologies. We are happy to say that we have thoroughly fixed the issues that were known to us since then.

The Student Hotel is a new model which combines the needs of students and hotel users. We have several more facilities than a standard student accommodation but not (for longer term guest) a full blown hotel service. As a long stay guest with a 5 or 10 months low cost stay your arrangement is that guests indeed clean their own room (though you can order cleaning sessions) and common kitchen. As a hotel guest these services are included within their packages.

We are sorry this was not clear for you. We have improved our website to help us communicate this clearly. We will also take your comments on board re the communication with our team and hope this will be improved.

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts out.

Kind regards

Pit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at TSH Rotterdam for three nights and was really blown away by the atmosphere of the place. It was really relaxed and had a gym and a library. It had a good space set-up to relax or work on the the ground floor and internet was super fast. The rooms were extremely comfortable and had everything I needed. I had planned to go out and eat while in Rotterdam, but ended up spending a tonne of time in the hotel's restaurant/cafe. It's a great space, fantastic food and nice staff. If you're thinking about staying here, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank U, Manager at The Student Hotel Rotterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
glad you enjoyed your stay. We love having meetings and working in the the cafe restaurant as well. See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Yesterday we stayed one night at the Student Hotel in Rotterdam. Althought they don't have a reception open during the weekend we where helped quickly and friendly at the restaurant. The restaurant is a nice open place where young people are chatting, drinking/eating and working on laptops. They also have a campus like working place with games like table football or table tennis. Also a good gym is available. The rooms are spacious, good but very basic. We first had disabled room but could change this luckily because this room is not so charming, We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Student Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Student Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Oostzeedijk 182, 3063 BM Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Student Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Student Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Student Hotel Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.