We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars from me!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spirit

Spirit
Mariniersweg 9, 3011 NB Rotterdam, The Netherlands
010 411 63 56
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 555 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Cuisines: Vegan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“5 stars from me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant deserves five stars in my mind. I am not even vegan, and I loved it! My friends are vegan and they were fascinated. We kept talking about the place for days and even went twice! Fresh food, and great taste all in one. Staff are very friendly and you pay for your food by the weight! What a novel idea! Makes a lot of sense , such a great idea. Vegan food at its best ! And even vegan cupcakes and cakes. We really were spoiled! Flavour and taste dont get much better than this little place. Go and be happy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enschede, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love it, veggie heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I am truly sad I don't live anywhere near Rotterdam, because I would be a regular customer here if I did. What an amazing place! All food is biological and vegetarian, home-cooked and delicious. Buffet-style restaurant (also take-away). You pay for the weight of the food you pile onto your plate. Lots of variety and choice, soups, salads, deep fries, desserts etc. Each dish has all ingredients listed, so gluten, sugar and lactose-free options are easily found. A true inspiration for the homecook who wants to try some new vegetarian/vegan dishes. I love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
destelbergen
2 reviews
“super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A lot of vegan options, fresh, special, even vegan cakes & cupcakes, yummie!
Next door bioshop, yoga, etc...called "Green Passage"
Coming back soon!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and variety!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Buffet style, pay-by-weight, and really delicious food! Lots of variety and dishes that are not often vegan unless you make them yourself. Vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free are labeled. They also sell beer and have a nice indoor dining area, as well as some tables outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Mauritius
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exceeding my expectations!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Staying in the Netherlands for around more than three weeks i wanted to try out some different sort of taste. My friend being a vegetarian asked that we had lunch there. Well i was pretty surprised by the very palatable dishes at a very reasonable price. I even travelled from Delft to Rotterdam just to enjoy the food again before returning back to Mauritius. Worth a try!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spirit also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spirit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.