We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and place are state of art...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Harmonie

De Harmonie
Westersingel 95, 3015 LC Rotterdam, The Netherlands
+31 10 436 3610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 607 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, International
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Food and place are state of art...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We were there at lunch. Amassing... U can't really expect it from the entrance but place is full of air and spacy.. Big English garden behind the restaurant, candles at the entrance and in the garden.. Very high class of service. Manager is waiting you at the entrance and acompany all your lunch. Introducing all exotic meal and very stylish. My personal applauds.
Food is amassing and really Mishelin-star stile. Everything very innovative. Starting from dry melted parmesan attached to the pice of wood... Goose liver with creme and brad made in a form of cylinders (look my photos), duck breast with the truffle soup... Fabulous desert...
Really high french cuisine at very high level...
Local friend of mind who brought us there said is almost the best restaurant in Rotterdam and I am about to agree with him..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    27
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wow. Just wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Give this place a Michelin Star! Exquisite food - we had the surprise menu, and what a pleasant surprise it was! Each course was an amazing balance of flavor and pleasing to the eye as well. It was quite reasonably priced, especially getting the wines to match each course. Friendly and knowledgeable staff and peaceful decor. We will go again next time we are in R'dam!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Harmonious lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I recently had lunch here with a good friend.

We were greeted by a lady, who wasn’t overly friendly. The same can be said about all waiting staff: correct but a bit of 'automatic pilot' friendliness. It was nice weather and we were escorted to our table in a beautiful garden, with loads of shady places provided by big old trees. The furniture however was not very comfortable and one would expect better and more comfortable chairs while spending some time here.

The menu was handed over and is very exciting. Choice from the menu is around 15 dishes, which are all presented with three words: really something different, which makes one very curious of what is about to come out of the kitchen.

The wine menu offers a nice range but wines here are not cheap. I opted for a Bourgogne Chardonnay but with a price tag of € 37,00, is quite steep for a, with all due respect, entry level wine from the Burgundy. Fortunately, it tasted good.

The highlight of this place is without any doubt the kitchen. We didn’t have much time so for a starter I chose the combination of Goose liver – Granny Smith – Seedcake (Dutch speciality called kruidkoek, which is difficult to translate). The presentation was stylish and the taste was stunning. My main course was the combination of Sea Bass – Turnip – Basil. Again an absolute winner with looks and great taste. My only criticism is that the portion size was a bit small for a main course, but a the same time this is a place to have more time to explore more of their fantastic menu combinations.

The lovely garden and the food are too good assets to give this restaurant a four star rating, but when taking the whole experience into account, a smile or two more and better chairs would make it a real five star experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The restaurant is excellent. My wife and I had a good time there and certainly good food. The atmosphere is nice. The waiters are also nice. The dessert is superb. Everything is perfect! Better to reserve a table in advanced on Saturdays. The restaurant is located at good place which is easy to reach by public transportation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Perfect harmony at Harmonie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Eating at Harmonie was a really positive experience. The food was excellent and the price is very reasonable for what you get. We had a tasting-menu consisting (at our request) of fish and vegetarian dishes, and especially the vegetarian dishes were wonderful. The food is a nice mix between modern and inventive dishes, and then a few more classic ones. The service was helpful, friendly, relaxed, knowledgable and even wore attractive uniforms (staff at high-end restaurants in Holland do have a tendency to be dressed like dowdy bank managers from the 1970s, never a plus for the overall ambience!). The interior is very nicely done in a clean and sober way that befits the old town house. There is plenty of space for the tables, so you are not rubbing your elbows against the other tables. My only complaint is that the lights were very bright, but probably they forgot to dim it on the evening we were there. All in all, a great experience. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Harmonie also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to De Harmonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Harmonie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.