We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality and Passion for food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lof der Zoetheid

Lof der Zoetheid
Noordplein 1, 3035 EA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
010 2650070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 523 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Dutch, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality and Passion for food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This place is always bustling with people and has a "gezellig" atmosphere. The waitresses are kind, attentive and friendly. Food is absolutely heavenly and top quality. We went for the lunch menu which was €9.95 per person and you get a basket of warm, fresh bread out the oven, a soup (it was sweet potato/carrot soup with coconut cream and fresh herb), and a combination of smoked meat and cheeses. Additionally, they paired the smoked meat and cheese with various chutneys and it was absolutely delish! The table next to us ordered "high tea" which looked scrumptious. Definitely going back for the high tea the next time (Note: it is quite pricey at 29++ )

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Given that the restaurant is open Thursday to Sunday, we had to visit today (Sunday) as the restaurant came highly recommended to us. The restaurant is open concept and tastefully decorated. Initially, we wanted to order the high tea, but the waitress informed us that we had to have made a reservation prior - she did offer to ask the chef if we could be accommodated. We thanked her for her willingness to help, but decided to go with some of the other selections on the menu instead. We ordered the mint tea, which was refreshing as it was made with fresh mint sprigs. For our meal, we selected the spinach and feta quiche, as well as the lunch special (green pea soup, assorted cheese and meat, a variety of cream cheese, pickles, tomatoes, mushrooms, mackerel, and fresh bread). The food presentation was simple, yet pleasant. All of the food was fresh and delicious. We loved eating here and recommend it to everyone, just as it was recommended to us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Both sweet and savory are great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I came here once for lunch and had a lovely lentilsoup, my dad had a sandwich with goatcheese that was amazing too.
Second time I came for only one thing: pie. And i got pie... Amazing lemon meringue that i have been dreaming of ever since.
I advice you visit and try the entire menu!

It does get busy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great fresh, tasty food, made with love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My favorite place for a good breakfast or lunch. Lovely room with open kitchen where mother and daughter cook the greatest food ever. Scones with selfmade jam, quiches, cakes, pies, chocolates, all with surprising flavors and definitely made with a huge amount of love (and food knowledge!). Good and fast service, even if the place is stuffed with people.
A couple of tables outside (when the weather allows it), enough parking space (parking meters).
Location at Noordplein, which is part of an upcoming neighborhood with nice shops (like a hige kitchen supply store).
Best secret in Rotterdam!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A creative and delicious breakfast, lunch and coffee place, in a upcoming area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Located in oude noorden next to the kookwinkel its not the most expected location. Interior is creatively basic but has something unique. The cakes and other sweets are delicious and homemade, the coffee good and all served friendly. Be sure to visit the shops that are next to the water too. Also all creative and inspiring

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lof der Zoetheid also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Lof der Zoetheid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lof der Zoetheid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.