We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Sichuan Chinese food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sansan

Sansan
Hang 33, Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 548 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Cuisines: Szechuan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Den Haag, Nederland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice Sichuan Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

90% of the visitors is Chinese, I think that says it all. Authentic taste, as far as I can judge. Spicy, though. Make absolutely sure you DO NOT bite one of those sichuan peppers :)... Service is good. Best Chinese restaurant in the Netherlands for me so far.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Bravo, Shizuan kitchen also for veggiese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

There is an abundant variety of Chinese restaurants in Rotterdam. The ChinInd ones (ChineseIndonesian) are neither Chinese nor Indonesian but a mix adapted to Dutch taste. If you like Indonesian food, better avoid to get it at the ChinInd. Chinese food is better then.
More than often Chinese restaurants do not have veggie options. Sansan has a lot, bravo!Sansan is pure Chinese, Shizuan (=4 streams/rivers) kitchen. My wife and I, activated by our knowledgeable gastronomy-daughter, had lunch at Sansan and liked it very much. A great choice of dishes, also for veggies, friendly staff, nice surroundings. Sansan is in the very middle of Rotterdam Centre in a quiet off lane, Metro stop Beurs.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great authentique sichuan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

i went here few times and every time it's great! the taste of the real authentique sichuan food. not like other chinese trash restaurants in holland. when you order, they ask you what grade hotness you want, it can be a little bit hot to very very hot. portions are enough and price is reasonable. the service of the staff is good, but maybe they can smile a bit more. they always look so serious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawaguchi-shi, Saitama, Japan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Hot and spicy, but very delicious.
Especially, Mabo-tofu is the best one I have ever eaten.
Reasonable cost, service is also not bad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Nethlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic evening at Sansan! The restaurant was very busy yet the wait staff was attentive and very helpful. Our waiter took quite a bit of time to explain the menu and made suggestions to make our meal more memorable. We tried a variety of dishes and levels of spiciness and were enthousastic about each dish - even the duck tongues and the jelly fish!

If we lived closer to Rotterdam, we would be frequent guests st Sansan but will now keep it as a special address for future visits.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sansan also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Sansan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sansan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.