We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe-Restaurant Rodin

Cafe-Restaurant Rodin
Schilderstraat 20a, 3011 ES Rotterdam, The Netherlands
+31 10 413 0143
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 749 Restaurants in Rotterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe-Restaurant Rodin is in the heart of the center of Rotterdam. A timeless and sleek interior ensures an international appeal and allure. Enjoy your lunch or dinner in this accessible, stylish ambiance and classic restaurant, where the dishes are modern and wonderful with only the best fresh products. All dishes are made ​​from fresh ingredients from the best suppliers. In addition, the chef uses te best seasonal products.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food & exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We wandered past this restaurant in the afternoon & like the look of the menu - particularly the 26 euro 3 course daily special so we returned for dinner. The meal was a herring, beetroot & granny smith apple salad, followed by steak with handcut chips & a pear sorbet, rhubarb compote & cake dessert. When we mentioned to the waiter that we (visitors from Australia) had tried herring for the first time the day before & really liked it, he produced an extra fillet to go with our salad. A lovely touch.

The service here was some of the best we have ever experienced. The two waiters were so friendly & helpful. They treated us like we were well-known regulars when we were tourists who had walked in off the street. I could see that they were just as friendly & attentive with all the other diners too. It is well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Restful and tasty break !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Heard about their Club sandwiches and wanted to test, had the classical one, excellent with fresh and very tasty products, added their home made fries, perfect... after so many kms by foot to enjoy Rotterdam by a sunny day.
Delightful welcome, peaceful decor and music

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fabien_voyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice new venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rodin is a newcomer in de Witte de Withstraat but a good one! Try the truffel vélouté, it's wonderful. Nice people, nice place, good food. Good place to take your parents for example, like I did :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for both lunch and dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love this place! I've been there a couple of times this year for both lunches and dinners. Food is delicious, the wines are great and service is excellent. The waiters make sure you have the best experience possible, are extremely helpful and they surprise you with their attentiveness. These are people who love what they do and are all about the details. The cherry on the cake: the excellent value for money! It can't get any better than that!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OiverM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food at nice location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a light lunch here consisting of the the goosebreast salad, the truffel soup and a club sandwich. The salad was smaller than I expected, but contained lots of goose and the combination with mango was very nice. The truffel soup was very truffely in a good way and the club sandwich was filling.

We were the first clients of the day and service was very prompt, with the waiter holding the door open when they saw us enter. There were also some toys to keep our two-year old busy. Also nice was the fact that at just slightly after twelve o'clock we were actually able to order a hot soup and goose-salad and not only the sandwich.

The place itself is quite big with high ceilings. It's not very intimate, but would probably be very suited to large groups, but it is in no way an eating shed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jie Yong K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe-Restaurant Rodin also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe-Restaurant Rodin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing