We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe-Restaurant Rodin

Cafe-Restaurant Rodin
Schilderstraat 20a | 3011 ES, Rotterdam 3011ES, The Netherlands
+31 10 413 0143
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 461 restaurants in Rotterdam
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food & exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We wandered past this restaurant in the afternoon & like the look of the menu - particularly the 26 euro 3 course daily special so we returned for dinner. The meal was a herring, beetroot & granny smith apple salad, followed by steak with handcut chips & a pear sorbet, rhubarb compote & cake dessert. When we mentioned to the waiter that we (visitors from Australia) had tried herring for the first time the day before & really liked it, he produced an extra fillet to go with our salad. A lovely touch.

The service here was some of the best we have ever experienced. The two waiters were so friendly & helpful. They treated us like we were well-known regulars when we were tourists who had walked in off the street. I could see that they were just as friendly & attentive with all the other diners too. It is well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    14
    28
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Restful and tasty break !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Heard about their Club sandwiches and wanted to test, had the classical one, excellent with fresh and very tasty products, added their home made fries, perfect... after so many kms by foot to enjoy Rotterdam by a sunny day.
Delightful welcome, peaceful decor and music

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice new venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Rodin is a newcomer in de Witte de Withstraat but a good one! Try the truffel vélouté, it's wonderful. Nice people, nice place, good food. Good place to take your parents for example, like I did :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for both lunch and dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love this place! I've been there a couple of times this year for both lunches and dinners. Food is delicious, the wines are great and service is excellent. The waiters make sure you have the best experience possible, are extremely helpful and they surprise you with their attentiveness. These are people who love what they do and are all about the details. The cherry on the cake: the excellent value for money! It can't get any better than that!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food at nice location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a light lunch here consisting of the the goosebreast salad, the truffel soup and a club sandwich. The salad was smaller than I expected, but contained lots of goose and the combination with mango was very nice. The truffel soup was very truffely in a good way and the club sandwich was filling.

We were the first clients of the day and service was very prompt, with the waiter holding the door open when they saw us enter. There were also some toys to keep our two-year old busy. Also nice was the fact that at just slightly after twelve o'clock we were actually able to order a hot soup and goose-salad and not only the sandwich.

The place itself is quite big with high ceilings. It's not very intimate, but would probably be very suited to large groups, but it is in no way an eating shed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe-Restaurant Rodin also viewed

Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
Rotterdam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe-Restaurant Rodin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe-Restaurant Rodin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.