We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take care with Natacha!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baan to your Saves list
Hotel Baan
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rochussenstraat 345, 3023 DH Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Santiago de Compostela, Galiza
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Take care with Natacha!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed in this hotel for a week . We arrived on monday afternoon and door was closed so we must wait a few minutes until the owner, his son and his dog arrived to check us in. The owner (his son and his dog didn't talk with us) seemed a nice person and gave us two rooms to choose one of them. The first one was in the second floor (n.10) and the second one was in the fourth floor (n.18). We went upstairs (and this mean "really" upstairs so the stairs was almost vertical and there isn't a lift) and when we reached the first room we decided to stay there, no matter how the other room (two floors up) would be. The room has a nice view on the canal and was clean and nice despite being a little one with few space for our bags. The bathroom was also small but enough. The breakfast every day was a continental buffet with a wide range of products, from bread to cereals, fruits, jams, cakes and so on. Each day when we went back to the room we have our bed... until friday. On saturday morning the girl in the reception has changed into a russian one (Natacha how we liked to call her, not that this was her real name) that requieres us to pay the amount of the stay and from that day on, until monday morning we leave, never the bed was made or changed the towels in the bathroom when we went back to the room. Sunday morning, as we were taking our breakfast, "Natacha" had a visit from a group of friends or relatives (we believed they were talking in russian language) that mantained her busy without taking care of take off the tables the used cutlery. So, not a bad place for the money if you are looking for a cheap place in Rotterdam, but only on working days or when the russian girl is out of the hotel. No luxuries but pretty near to two underground stations (Coolhaven and Delfhaven) that put you in city's downtown in less than 10 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    13
    1
    13
See reviews for
3
13
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

First of all this place is not the Belagio, so if you want all mod cons stay elsewhere, I needed somewhere reasonable to stay while i checked out Rotterdam on a break.

Dont be late to check in, I was and had to wait around for a stoned local to let me in, Didnt care after that, The staff were charming and funny and informative about the local area, (and let me take a doggy bag full of rolls)

So i wasn't expecting much, B&B and a shower , for this it was fine my room had a telly so i could see my friends drowning in mud at Glastonbury whilst i got sunburned,smug and dry in Holland.

At the time i was a student so dosing down was fine but if had a bit more cash i would have expected more, An all round quaility crashpad.Enjoy
ps
Check out Delfshaven on the other side of the Coolhaven for some historic pubs and bars, (this was the one of the few parts of Rotterdam not to get bombed in the war)

  • Liked — the charm
  • Disliked — turning up late
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

I booked a night's stay at this hotel last weekend as I was visiting some friends in Rotterdam. I paid EUR 86 for the room/ensuite bathroom, which I thought was quite steep for a 2-star hotel. I didn't see the room when I checked in as I was late for my appointment and had to rush off. When I returned later that evening, I was quite appalled. The whole floor was like a building site (the rooms on that floor were being renovated and the room I was given had barely been completed) and the room was dusty and reeked of paint. The bathroom looked brand new and decent but the room was pretty bare - just two, small single beds crammed together, a table and a single wooden chair; there were no closets or hangers. There were paint stains on the carpet and on the curtains, and to top it off, the room was buzzing with mosquitos. The room faced a busy road and though the windows were double-glazed, the noise of cars whizzing
past was more than enough to keep me awake. After more than an hour of trying to get some sleep, I packed my bag and left. I called the hotel the next day to complain but the owners were on holiday and the lady who answered asked me to call back in several weeks' time.

Even if the room was clean, I can't believe the audacity of the owners to charge EUR 86! Absolutely no value for money here.

To anyone who is planning a stay in Rotterdam, don't bother with this
hotel - stay somewhere else!

  • Liked — Convenient location close to a mtero station.
  • Disliked — Everything about the room.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

When we arrived at the hotel, we had to wait 45 minutes to get in as the owner was not there, and he was very rude to us when we called to be let in! In addition, the first room we were given was a buidling site, then had to go through the process of being given 3 more wrong room keys before finally getting a key to the right rooms. The rooms thenselves were very basic, dirty with wallpaper coming off the walls etc. The mattresses on all beds were so uncomfy. However, the hotel is in an excellent location, and the breakfast was good. However even though we were expecting basic accommodation, this was worse than we could ever expect, will not be going back!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2006

There were some problems with Hotel Baan, but we still enjoyed our stay. The online reservation form did not work and I had to call to make a reservation. When we arrived the owner was not present and we had to wait outside for his return. The rooms are very basic and the heat is not very forceful. But, we still very much liked Hotel Baan. It was easy to get to using public transportation. The owner was very friendly with us and took a lot of time with us--answering our questions about Holland and Rotterdam. The breakfast spread was good and filling; the coffee very good. It had a family-oriented feel to it, as the owner lives in the building with his wife, children, and other family members. Our room had a lovely view of the canal and surrounding neighborhood. It was a little pricey for the services, but still less expensive than anything else we found in Rotterdam. Know what to expect at Hotel Baan, and it will be enjoyable. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2004

We booked through GWK at Enschede Train Station. They took a credit card no to confirm the booking and quoted a price of €66 for a twin room with Shower only.
When we went to pay for the room it turned out that they levy 8% on room price for Credit Card Payments. The price quoted was the cash price. The manager/owner was very aggresive in explaining that this levy was necessary in order to ensure he made a profit - we felt that we were just a means of lining his pocket and didn't feel at all welcome! Obviously they are in business to make a profit but what about customer service....is it not a service industry?

Also, seems Shower only means no toilet in the room although they did end up giving us a room with a shower & toilet - maybe because they had already sent us to the wrong room. (We assumed shower only meant no bath - silly us!)

The wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the window was wedged open with the TV Control and the safe didn't work!!! Needless to say we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2004, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baan

Address: Rochussenstraat 345, 3023 DH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baan 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rooms in a monumental building. Friendly atmosphere, Always busy modernizing the hotel. some rooms have a nice view of the small harbor. All rooms are available with a shower, toilet, color TV, safe and a hairdryer etc. with a very good breakfast.Nearby you can find a nice pool-café which serves good food on walking distance, pubs and restaurants in the Historic Delfshaven. Rooms but quiet clean.For those who don't know the Netherlands or Belgium, Stairs to the floors are for some guests narrow however in our hotel the are quite spacious for Dutch circumstances. We offer more as we can write down. We are doing our best to make you enjoy your stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Baan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.