We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for your money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baan to your Saves list
Hotel Baan
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rochussenstraat 345, 3023 DH Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for your money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

A small family run hotel with clean rooms and bathroom. The breakfast was pretty good to get your morning started (coffee, juice, tea, milk, cereal, yogurt, bread, jam, cheese, jams, fruit). We stayed for two nights and the owner was very friendly and helpful in anything we needed. The wifi had a good range. It was a bit far from the center (45min walking) and other touristic places but there are two metro stations 5min away walking distance.
At hotel Baan you get just what is offered at an affordable price. If you are on a budget I would recommend your stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    17
    13
    1
    12
See reviews for
3
13
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Fantastic value for money. Lovely family run hotel. Really helpful owners. Just right for somewhere to stop off on travels to recuperate. Ring the bell as sometimes a sign up that the hotel is full when it's not!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The hotel is a small family hotel. The location is really nice, it's close to the historic district, to the center of the city, and to Euromast and the park. The price is good and the breakfast was really nice. I've been to hotels all over the Netherlands which are with backpackers friendly prices and for now this is one of the best because of its customer service which was the thing that made a difference. The owner and his wife were really friendly, they let us check-in earlier, offered to change our room, if we would like. There was no need for a change of the room since we got a spacious, clean one with a balcony which was with a view of the canal. All in all, I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Baan during the very busy weekend of the Rotterdam marathon. Just great for what we needed. Nice room with view over the dock & close to a historic bit of Rotterdam. Very clean & good price. Probably one of the best breakfasts I've had in Holland. Cooked by the owner who it turned out had just given birth to a baby boy. What was she doing cooking for us?
If we had known we would have done it ourselves. A bit like staying with a dutch family. Very cool.

Dorran Hughes from London

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Not what I expected from the picture of the Hotel, needs a good tidy up especially the reception area. The first thing to greet me was children's bikes in the reception, not what you would expect. The room was not tidy, I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Dear ppl
I would not recommend this hotel to any one at all
First bad experience started with waiting outside in rain for 30minutes and actually it's family run small business and receptionist were sleeping during the day
Due to that we were standing middle of no where in heavy wind and rain
When we got in finally with the help of another person who were staying at hotel
We wanted in side for another 25minutes for receptionist to turn up
My advice is don't stay in family run small hotels
There were no facility as shown in hotels.com website
Nobody changed bed sheets or provided towels at all for our trip second. ,third and fourth day
We were using same towels can y imagine that
We had no choice as due to international event every single hotel were fully booked and we were kind of stuck
There were not proper heating working
I would not recommend at any cost
Rest up to you guys !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The lcalization was beatufull, we could see the river from our room window, it was false very quiet zone.
This hotel is a family business amda both the owner and his wife were unbelievable kind and giving persons, one day my girlfriend was sick from and needed some proteins, we went downstairs too buy a fried egg for her and end up with two fried eggs for each of us and some salmon with veggies that the owner was cooking for his family, and all of this was free!! Amazing persons, this hotel was so good mainly because of the staff , if you are on a short budget and want to go to Rotterdam, stay at Baan the only thing we didn't like was the fact that the beds were too soft for our tastes, my girlfriend woke everyday with back aches.

Room Tip: If you speak with the owner he probably will offer his bed if you don't like yours :p
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baan

Address: Rochussenstraat 345, 3023 DH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Baan 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Rooms in a monumental building. Friendly atmosphere, Always busy modernizing the hotel. some rooms have a nice view of the small harbor. All rooms are available with a shower, toilet, color TV, safe and a hairdryer etc. with a very good breakfast.Nearby you can find a nice pool-café which serves good food on walking distance, pubs and restaurants in the Historic Delfshaven. Rooms but quiet clean.For those who don't know the Netherlands or Belgium, Stairs to the floors are for some guests narrow however in our hotel the are quite spacious for Dutch circumstances. We offer more as we can write down. We are doing our best to make you enjoy your stay ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.