We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but: Fire alarm at night, nobody to switch it off!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Rotterdam Oost

Save Saved
You added Campanile Rotterdam Oost to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Campanile Rotterdam Oost
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningslaan 2 | Hoek Hoofdweg, Rotterdam 3067, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Ok, but: Fire alarm at night, nobody to switch it off!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Hotel was okay, clean.
Location is not beautiful, but fine if you just want to sleep.
My brother stayed at the room I booked for him. This is what he told me:
"At 12:30am the fire alarm went on in every room of the hotel, which is a very loud, annoying beep. I guess somebody lighted a cigarette in his or her room, because I didn't see a fire. Couldn't stay at my room until the alarm was switched off approximately 45 minutes (!) later. The front desk area was dark, didn't see any staff. What if there would have been a real fire? What if there would have been a problem with the room or the key?
The fan in the bathroom was pretty noisy, too. Closing the bathroom door didn't help.
Bed was okay."
Found a good rate for 49 euro.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Situated on the edge of the city. A 5-minute walk to the nearest tramline and a 20-minute tram ride from the centre. Trams were expensive. A nice private car park enclosed by the hotel buildings. Good access to the roads in and out of the city. Room was a nice size with twin beds and a desk. It was perfectly clean. The rooms were maisonette-style and reached via an outside staircase rather than an internal corridor. This gives a feeling of privacy. There was a good bathroom and a kettle to make drinks as well as a TV and free internet access. The hotel has a restaurant and offers breakfast for 11 euros. We thought that to be very expensive and didn't bother. We didn't use the restaurant but it looked OK. This hotel would be ideal if you are just passing through and don't particularly want to see the city.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is on a busy main road and may be too noisy for some but we slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

we stayed here over a week when we moved to Holland (we were looking for a flat at the same time.) It is true that the hotel is far from the center but it is 5 mins from a big shopping mall, metro/train station. I was pleasantly surprised to find a bathtub and towel rail (previously to this, we were staying in a camping in Amsterdam...) Staff is OK,no hidden fees or anything (paid 79 euros a night,part of it online and the rest at the desk), the room was big enough for us(and we had big luggage,laptops and all our belongings actually.) I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to travel on a budget. Believe me ,everything in Holland, especially accomodation is an extortion!!! Another GREAT point: They accept Visa!! It seems trivial but try to flog it anywhere else in Rotterdam(apart Burger King!)

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

A very ugly building, very very cheap furniture (Leen Bakker), very small rooms. No sense of hospitallity at all.

Even though we booked the hotel because it was on route and we arrived very late and left early, we decided that in future we would rather pay more for a decent place!

But if your budget is limited and you own a car: it gots everything you need and your eyes will be closed a great part of your stay!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

my family and I stayed there for 1 night.
we were bitten by mosquitoes. it was a nightmare!
the rooms were'nt clean and the neighbourhood is really bad too.
Price was reasonable.
we requested a baby cot which was confirmed by the hotel; only to find out in the evening we checked in that they have a broken one... to make the story short, in the end, they brought another baby cot from another hotel near by.
we would not recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — the rate
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Campanile. The hotel was ok for simply having a place to snooze. It was not hard to leave the hotel and spend as much time out of our twin room as there was no air conditioning (or even a fan) and no mini bar, our remote control for the television did not work.

Staff at reception were warm and friendly. In fact I had to have documents urgently faxed back to London, which they were kind enough to send for me at no cost. We never ordered food from the hotel restaurant, as we never had time and thought it was cost effective to eat out.

Rotterdam Carnival was a train journey and two metro stops away, so this hotel was a little out of the way. Would have to stay much closer or on the Carnival route for quick access to your pillow! Also find out if they do week end travel cards as it can be costly to travel around otherwise. We had to get a taxi from Amsterdam back to the hotel, which was over 100 euros, luckily there were four of us...

The hotel was very basic, but was ok for the duration. The length of time spent in the hotel each day was perfect as it wasn't a place to relax, but simply shower and sleep.Perhaps not the most convenient if you want to experience the Amsterdam Cafes and Rotterdam Carnival in a short space of time!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

We stayed here for one night. The room was quite small, but comfortable, clean and everything you might require. Check in staff were friendly, and doubled up as waiters for the evening meal.

We also ate in the restaurant, which was good value for money. I got the fish of the day, and it was excellent. My colleague had an omelette and side salad, which was great too.

Bear in mind that this is quite a bit out of town, but only a 5/10 min walk from the closest metro station. A taxi into/out of town centre is roughly about 18/20Euro if you are heading home from a night out.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campanile Rotterdam Oost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Rotterdam Oost

Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Rotterdam
Address: Koningslaan 2 | Hoek Hoofdweg, Rotterdam 3067, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Rotterdam Oost 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Campanile Rotterdam Oost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Rotterdam Oost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.