We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you're passing through.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Rotterdam Oost

Save Saved
You added Campanile Rotterdam Oost to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Rotterdam Oost
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningslaan 2 | Hoek Hoofdweg, 3067 Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL 10€ DISCOUNT
Ranked #37 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Ormskirk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK if you're passing through.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Situated on the edge of the city. A 5-minute walk to the nearest tramline and a 20-minute tram ride from the centre. Trams were expensive. A nice private car park enclosed by the hotel buildings. Good access to the roads in and out of the city. Room was a nice size with twin beds and a desk. It was perfectly clean. The rooms were maisonette-style and reached via an outside staircase rather than an internal corridor. This gives a feeling of privacy. There was a good bathroom and a kettle to make drinks as well as a TV and free internet access. The hotel has a restaurant and offers breakfast for 11 euros. We thought that to be very expensive and didn't bother. We didn't use the restaurant but it looked OK. This hotel would be ideal if you are just passing through and don't particularly want to see the city.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel is on a busy main road and may be too noisy for some but we slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

we stayed here over a week when we moved to Holland (we were looking for a flat at the same time.) It is true that the hotel is far from the center but it is 5 mins from a big shopping mall, metro/train station. I was pleasantly surprised to find a bathtub and towel rail (previously to this, we were staying in a camping in Amsterdam...) Staff is OK,no hidden fees or anything (paid 79 euros a night,part of it online and the rest at the desk), the room was big enough for us(and we had big luggage,laptops and all our belongings actually.) I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to travel on a budget. Believe me ,everything in Holland, especially accomodation is an extortion!!! Another GREAT point: They accept Visa!! It seems trivial but try to flog it anywhere else in Rotterdam(apart Burger King!)

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

A very ugly building, very very cheap furniture (Leen Bakker), very small rooms. No sense of hospitallity at all.

Even though we booked the hotel because it was on route and we arrived very late and left early, we decided that in future we would rather pay more for a decent place!

But if your budget is limited and you own a car: it gots everything you need and your eyes will be closed a great part of your stay!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

my family and I stayed there for 1 night.
we were bitten by mosquitoes. it was a nightmare!
the rooms were'nt clean and the neighbourhood is really bad too.
Price was reasonable.
we requested a baby cot which was confirmed by the hotel; only to find out in the evening we checked in that they have a broken one... to make the story short, in the end, they brought another baby cot from another hotel near by.
we would not recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — the rate
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2008

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Campanile. The hotel was ok for simply having a place to snooze. It was not hard to leave the hotel and spend as much time out of our twin room as there was no air conditioning (or even a fan) and no mini bar, our remote control for the television did not work.

Staff at reception were warm and friendly. In fact I had to have documents urgently faxed back to London, which they were kind enough to send for me at no cost. We never ordered food from the hotel restaurant, as we never had time and thought it was cost effective to eat out.

Rotterdam Carnival was a train journey and two metro stops away, so this hotel was a little out of the way. Would have to stay much closer or on the Carnival route for quick access to your pillow! Also find out if they do week end travel cards as it can be costly to travel around otherwise. We had to get a taxi from Amsterdam back to the hotel, which was over 100 euros, luckily there were four of us...

The hotel was very basic, but was ok for the duration. The length of time spent in the hotel each day was perfect as it wasn't a place to relax, but simply shower and sleep.Perhaps not the most convenient if you want to experience the Amsterdam Cafes and Rotterdam Carnival in a short space of time!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

We stayed here for one night. The room was quite small, but comfortable, clean and everything you might require. Check in staff were friendly, and doubled up as waiters for the evening meal.

We also ate in the restaurant, which was good value for money. I got the fish of the day, and it was excellent. My colleague had an omelette and side salad, which was great too.

Bear in mind that this is quite a bit out of town, but only a 5/10 min walk from the closest metro station. A taxi into/out of town centre is roughly about 18/20Euro if you are heading home from a night out.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

I booked online, but the hotel had no record of my booking. I had to contact the web site that I booked through at my expense. They sorted out the problem for me. Once we arrived at the hotel the staff were pleasant and helpful, the rooms were small but OK. Unfortunately our room was not cleaned for three days and we had to go and ask for toilet paper and plastic cups at reception. When the room was finally serviced the TV remote disappeared, never to be returned, despite reporting the loss to reception. When it came time to check out the bill was for Euro 95.00 per night (Excluding breakfast) instead of the advertised rate of Euro 83.00 per night. Also the hotel was displaying adverts for a special where you pay for one room and get two for the same price. Since our group was renting four rooms we asked why we did not qualify for the special. The rather weak response was that it only applied to people who have booked online. We pointed out that we had booked online but it made no difference. The staff seem unaware of the advertised rates on the internet and are not well informed about the special offers that they boldly display on the premises. I think this is a management problem and do not blame the friendly staff at the hotel. So beware, staying here might cost more than you expect and you will not get any relief by pointing out your internet booking sheet rates.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Rotterdam Oost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Rotterdam Oost

Address: Koningslaan 2 | Hoek Hoofdweg, 3067 Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Rotterdam Oost 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Campanile Rotterdam Oost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Rotterdam Oost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.