We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon to your Saves list
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Driemanssteeweg 5 | Hoek Groene Kruisweg, 3084 CA Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This s a very nice hotel.

The staff is very friendly and always ready to give you all the information you might need.

My room was clean with dimensions. The beds were a little small but confortable. The bathroom was also very clean.

In the morning they serve a very nice breakfast to start your day with plenty of energy.

I definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Rhoon. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
2
6
3
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

As a chain hotel you get what you expect.

The room was comfortable and had the usual amenities, while being clean and reasonably spacious.

The resturant/bar area was nice. There was plenty of seating and a bar area to watch sports as well as a smoking lounge for those who want it. The food was pretty good and you certainly get your moneys worth. I ended up with two full rack of ribs as the menu didnt specify how much as I was going to get. I can't complain, it's better than not getting enough!

Overall it's a comfortable hotel and if you need to get out of rotterdam easily after your stay this is a very well situated hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!

Thank you very much for that.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business and due to a mix up (not the hotels fault) found myself here. I must also point out that smoking is allowed in parts of this hotel and I really can't stand smoke.
2 things
1. Despite being in a non smoking room I could smell smoke in the bathroom
2. The bed was awful, single about 1ft off the ground. The mattress was visible sunk in the middle, was v soft and the pillows had to be folded 4 times to make any use of them

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked this hotel as it was close to where we were working, but the thought of staying here for weeks was impossible. We ended up finding a cheaper and 100x nicer short term apartment in central rotterdam.

Bastion Hotel rooms and restaurant were not up to the cleanliness I would have expected (ie. empty wrappers in room, dirty table setting in restaurant). The staff made no effort until a complaint was made and the rooms were much smaller then expected.

We were told that the rooms all had only single beds, so for a couple it wasn't great. Also the bed I slept in was very uncomfortable and uneven. My partners bed was fine.

Food (dinner) in the restaurant was below average and staff would tell us off if we sat at a wrong table in the morning purely because it was already set for dinner that evening (this makes no sense to me, it's just a matter of changing cutlery). Breakfast was very good when the staff were making themselves available to cook us eggs.

Overall I would say, only stay here for 1 night if you have to as it is a good location to certain things.

Room Tip: Stay on the back side of the hotel (not on the main road side), it's less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed at the Bastion as a trial as its nearer to work and less expensive than my usual hotel in Rotterdam. Room was clean but basic. Only single beds available which makes it a little uncomfortable for me but the restaurant food was good (again basic steak etc) and the breakfast the normal stuff for Rotterdam (bread, meat and chocolate) The location and cost will mean I stay again. Not bad at all

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Rotterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Overall average stay, kept awake one night by fire alarm going off due to fault, staff didn't have a clue how to handle the situation no one knew if there was a fire or not!?!
Location was very handy for work, I will travel a little further next time.
Oh, and they even took payment from my credit card twice? Paid back quick enough but just fuzzy payment system.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon

Address: Driemanssteeweg 5 | Hoek Groene Kruisweg, 3084 CA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Rhoon offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Since February 2010 the hotel is fully air conditioned and has a fitness area. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Rhoon is a comfortable three star hotel in the South of Rotterdam, situated on the A-15. The hotel is well accessible by car and it has a good connection with event hall Ahoy. The centre of the city has a good accessibility by car or public transportation also. The city of Rotterdam offers architecture which is very impressive. The beautiful dock city may call itself "City of architecture 2007" Rooms The 147 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, airconditioning, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Rhoon guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.