We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for one Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon

Save Saved
You added Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Driemanssteeweg 5 | Hoek Groene Kruisweg, 3084 CA Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Rotterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Hotel for one Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Concert in Ahoy, hotel was good, friendly personel!
Good location, good bedroom, asked for non smoking, so we had non smoking.
We'll be back if we're redoing a Ahoy Concert!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Rhoon.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
2
6
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night in April as it wasn't far from the Ahoy where we were going to a concert. The location of the hotel isn't particularly attractive but it is good for road connections! The hotel itself was pretty ugly from the outside but inside it was fine. The bedroom although not large was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. I found the reception staff helpful and friendly. We had dinner in the hotel and it was OK. The menu was not particularly exciting especially for non meat eaters and the service was a little slow.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Manager at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Dergelijke opmerkingen steunen mij en mijn collega’s in het geven van een goede service aan onze gewaardeerde gasten. Wij tracht altijd de verwachtingen te overtreffen van onze gast. Ik hoop u in de toekomst wederom te mogen begroeten bij Bastion Hotelgroep.

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have to agree with one or two other reviews here.

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of weeks and really got fed up of having to wait a minimum of an hour from arriving in the restaurant to receiving our food.

After a long day at work this was just too much and not acceptable.

The staff didn't seem particularly interested in trying to help and seemed to have an attitude problem.

There was also a problem with my toilet that would not flush.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor.

I am really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our staff in assuring our perfect service. Please accept my sincere apologies for your (unfortunately) negative stay at our hotel! I do hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels.

Kind regards,


Maik Willems
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

i was staying at the bastion hotel on buisness and stayed there for two weeks, the rooms were clean but the food was absolutely terrible and that is if you got it, waiting times for the food varied from receipt of order, but on an average about an hour and twenty minutes and believe me it was not worth the wait the menu is repetitive and boring, also some of the staff are very arrogant and i found it was like they felt they were doing you a favor by serving you, and you should feel lucky, well if you are thinking of staying at this hotel trust me don't, you are not treated with any respect and the food is terrible. just don't do it

Room Tip: go to another hotel with friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review regarding Bastion Deluxe Hotel Rotterdam Rhoon on Tripadvisor. First of all, I wish to offer our apologies for your unfortunate stay at this hotel.

Your opinion is very importrant to us and will help us to increase our service. For this reason we will treat your review very seriously and we will discuss your points of criticism with our management and hotel staff.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your (unfortunately) negative stay at our hotel! I do hope to welcome you again in one of our hotels.

Kind regards,


Maik Willems
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is a small to medium sized hotel , their greatest asset is their staff, they are warm and friendly.
I ate in the restaurant very good watch out for the big portions.
Nice range of beer and wine
Great to have free Wi-Fi rare for a Dutch hotel
I had a good peaceful night’s sleep which is what we all need on business

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.
I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Rotterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I have just come back from 2 weeks in Rotterdam where I visited my husband who is working over there for a month. We stayed at the Bastion as that is where his company has all their staff staying. The hotel is out of the city, definately not walking distance, costs between 21 - 25 euro by taxi from Rotterdam central. But it is convenient to the industrial areas of Rotterdam, hence there are a lot of workers, mostly men, staying here. The hotel room was clean, smallish by Australian standards, about the size of a normal 3 star motel. There were two single beds, the hotel doesn't have any rooms with double or queen size beds. The bathroom has a shower, basin and toilet. There is a bench in the main area with a small bar fridge, flat screen TV with loads of channels, CNN etc. also free wifi in the rooms. Downstairs there is a gym which only has 3 pieces of cardio equipment, the instructions are all in Dutch so good luck trying to program them! (just push the green quick start button!) There is also a large dining room, bar and a free internet station. The staff were helpful if there was any problems. I was a bit disappointed with the Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room. There were no china drinking cups or glasses provided. Only two very small paper cups, 2 small plastic spoons, 2 sachets of coffee, 2 sachets of creamer etc.per day, plastic drinking cups and plastic wine cups were provided. This might be standard in Europe, I can't say, but it wouldn't happen in Oz. We ate some meals in the dining room which were nice, not a large menu but the food was good. However as an alternative there is another restaurant closeby, Heeren Van Charlois, which is really lovely. It has very comfortable chairs, great atmosphere, good food & wine and a charming host who is very attentive. There is also a Macdonalds across the road (if you want to eat crap). There is also a supermarket about 10 minutes walk away which is very convenient, we bought a jar of coffee and milk etc.
A big downside for me or anyone staying here for a vacation, was the location but as my husband was there for work I had no choice. However I overcame this by asking the staff about the public transport system in Rotterdam and then doing my own research on the internet, and figured out that I could catch a bus closeby to hotel to the Slinge Metro station, then catch the train (one leaves every 5 minutes) into the city. I did this most days and can say I felt perfectly safe, although I didn't use it at night so I can't vouch for safety then. If you do decide to do this, ask the bus driver for a 2 hour pass, 3.50 euro, this allows you to travel on the bus, train and trams for 2 hours. The Slinge Metro station is also within walking distance of the hotel, about 25 minutes, if you prefer to walk. Rotterdam has lots of museums and interesting places to visit and amazing shopping in the city! It is definately worth a visit. One tip though, if you go to the tourist info centre, grab one of their maps of the walking tour of the city but also buy a proper map of Rotterdam to get your bearings.

Room Tip: We were in the deluxe room, but I don't know what the difference is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hlohovec, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Modern hotel, situated in the outskirts of Rotterdam, close to many business areas of the city.
My room was clean, and there was a free wifi. Great breakfast.
Will stay again.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon

Address: Driemanssteeweg 5 | Hoek Groene Kruisweg, 3084 CA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 53 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Rhoon offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Since February 2010 the hotel is fully air conditioned and has a fitness area. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Rotterdam Rhoon is a comfortable three star hotel in the South of Rotterdam, situated on the A-15. The hotel is well accessible by car and it has a good connection with event hall Ahoy. The centre of the city has a good accessibility by car or public transportation also. The city of Rotterdam offers architecture which is very impressive. The beautiful dock city may call itself "City of architecture 2007" Rooms The 147 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, airconditioning, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Rhoon guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Hotel Rotterdam/Rhoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.