We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maritime Hotel Rotterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Maritime Hotel Rotterdam to your Saves list
Maritime Hotel Rotterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willemskade 13, 3016 DK Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Courteous, friendly staff. GREAT view of one of the most busiest ports. I could have stared out of our 6th floor room for hours on end.
LOVED the bathroom. The shower was super yummy.
Breakfast buffet was expansive and popular. Wonderful location in downtown Rotterdam. Walking distance to most of the city's sites.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    106
    62
    11
    10
See reviews for
20
58
38
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed couple of nights at a deluxe room with the river view. Can't fault the room in any way, except that of course it could have been bigger but it was sufficient at least for us. Very nice view over the river and the room seemed to have been refurbished not more than a couple of years ago, everything seemed clean and new. The upper floors seem to have only a few rooms per floor, meaning less distractions during the night.

I guess the location could have been a bit more central, altough the about 3 minute walk to the metro was not bad at all (and the city center is 1-2 metro stops away). Overall the metro & tram system seemed to work very nicely.

Breakfast was included but I would rate it as moderate at most (altough I have no experience from other Dutch hotels). No warm stuff except for eggs (bacon etc are missing). Considering the price of the room, it was OK anyway.

Very friendly and good service at the reception.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Maritime Hotel is a very nice budget hotel. I bet you can't find anything better for this price in Rotterdam.

The check-in was very smooth and the lady at the reception was very friendly. We stayed in a twin room with private bathroom for 70 euro per night. I believe there are also basic rooms with shared facilities. The room was quite large and so was the bathroom. The only downside in the room is there is carpet which you can definitely not keep as clean as a tile floor. The wi-fi was free and working very well.
The breakfast was also included in the price and very good. Diffirent types of bread, sandwiches, croissants, juices, cereal, yoghurts, meat, eggs... Everything you could wish for really!!
The location of the hotel is ideal. Right near the Erasmusbrug and a 5 minutes walk to subway, tram and bus. If you come by car there is a parking nearby, but it's very expensive.

I would definitely recomment this hotel. Very good quality for this price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed four nights here last November, booked largely due to its location. Booked a double room with shared amenities; what I got was a twin room, where the two beds were separated by a cupboard, which meant that pushing the two beds together resulted in them being wonky!

The walls are thin, rooms basic and the toilets are basically contained within a broom cupboard, but for the price I paid I was happy that everything was clean and tidy. Breakfast was surprisingly varied (along with a big jug of Chocomel available to drink - bonus points there!) and the bar downstairs maybe shut a little too early, but served generous portions of staple Dutch food at a decent price, along with many other things on a pretty comprehensive menu.

The three-star hotel in a five-star location is maybe pushing it just a little, but polite staff, satisfactory amenities, decent breakfast and an excellent location meant it was easy to overlook the other "budget hotel" things.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I stayed at the Maritime Hotel for two nights in November 2011. The room was small but clean, with a fantastic waterfront view and despite the tram stop outside, surprisingly quiet. Breakfast was somewhat basic, and I've never stayed in a hotel before where you have to put your own tray away - but I guess this is because the hotel is part of the Zeemanshuis and the breakfast area is more of a canteen for the Regular clientele.

Free internet in the room was reasonably fast and reliable, and for a short stay I can't fault the facilities. Not sure I'd stay there for longer periods though.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Rooms were basic and clean, with comfortable beds. Breakfast was typical Dutch fayre. Plenty there to fill me up. The decor is very industrial maritime, but at least this makes a change from generic prints you see everywhere. Has a slight hostel feel but for the money very reasonable & good value. I'd use again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

Best you can buy with this price, however it's expensive in Europe. Although it's end season...
The hotel has a very nice restaurant, friendly bar lady. I'm about trying the food. Will let you know later!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritime Hotel Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Hotel Rotterdam

Address: Willemskade 13, 3016 DK Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maritime Hotel Rotterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maritime Hotel is located in the centre of Rotterdam in the beautiful district near the waterfront. Opposite the famous 'Erasmusbridge' you'll find a comfortable place for your stay in Rotterdam. Not only guests of the maritime world, but also tourists, business people, etc. could enjoy a stay in this hotel with maritime and historical atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Maritime Hotel Rotterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotterdam Maritime Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritime Hotel Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.