We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, pleasant and inexpensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Breitner

Save Saved
You added Hotel Breitner to your Saves list
Hotel Breitner
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Breitner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Breitnerstraat 23, Rotterdam 3015 XA, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quiet, pleasant and inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Stayed there for four nights. Probably the most quiet hotel in downtown Rotterdam since it's in a small side street. Personnel was friendly, WiFi was free, bed was good and bathroom new and clean. The rooms are rather small, but that's standard Dutch size. Supermarket, Metro and tram stations around the corner, 15 min walk from Central Station. Lots of nice pubs and restaurants in close walking distance, as well as the Museumpark which hosts some wonderful museums. Breakfast buffet included, even though not stellar. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
12
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

This hotel was the least expensive one advertised for the conference i attended at De Doelen. I was very impressed with the proximity to the conference center as well as various restaurants and attractions. The tram was three blocks away. The river was a 10 minute walk.

The room was better than i expected. The street was very quiet. I feel sorry for those who paid twice as much on the main drag. It only cost me 10 Euros per night to park my car.

I made use of the complimentary breakfast and computer. I recommend the Hotel Breitner.

  • Liked — The price!
  • Disliked — Cigarette smoke in the breakfast area
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

The staff at this hotel is the nightmare of customer service. They avoid answering your demands by placing blame on the guest and giving the excuse of being "very busy". I would not recommend this to anyone. After trying to make a reservation online and not hearing from the hotel, we made other arrangements, only to find out later that they charges us anyway (although they never confirmed the reservation despite our attempts to reach them). Their excuse :" We are very busy".
On the phone they are impolite and again do not take their time to speak with the customer, especially once the "deal is sealed".
DO NOT book with this hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

A traditional, small hotel in a nice area of Rotterdam. I had no problems. Rooms were in a traditional style, clean and with a decent shower. Mine had a balcony looking over the garden. Breakfast consisted of boiled egg, cereal, ham and cheese, bread - taken in a bright conservatory. There is also a bar and they serve evening meals Mon-Thurs, though I didn't eat there.

Yes the hotel does smell of smoke, but so does everywhere else in the Netherlands as they don't legislate against smoking in public places. The staff weren't particularly friendly, but I had no problems. There is free wireless, but I didn't have my laptop with me.

The best thing about the hotel is the location - on a quiet backstreet right near all the art galleries and museums, and also some very cool clothes and record shops and bars. Only a 10 minute walk to the central station, along a pretty little canal lined with sculptures [including a Rodin].

  • Liked — location and the record shops near by
  • Disliked — staff a bit unfriendly
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2007

The staff (Henny) was very responsive and courteous. I was accidently charged and refunded as quickly as possible.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

This hotel has traditional decor which is well looked after. Nice gardens too. We had a family room (for the 2 of us) and it was a good-sized room. The tiled bathroom was well set out and nice and clean. Other good features - helpful friendly staff helped us with where to find places to eat etc, the location, sumptious breakfasts, free Internet on a computer near the buffet area, iron available.
As non-smokers, we did notice the smoking but it probably didn't bother us as much since we'd been in Europe for 4 weeks so sort of were used to it. In New Zealand people are not allowed to smoke inside in public places including hotels so it's quite different.

  • Liked — The overall quality of the accommodation
  • Disliked — The smoking
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

A decent enough small hotel, but for the fact the proprietor smokes those little cigars all day (and probably has done so for years) and so the smell of cigars permeates the rooms, even rooms he has probably never entered! On the plus side, it was a great value for a Rotterdam hotel during the North Sea Jazz Festival -- it seemed to be the only hotel in Rotterdam that did not double its rates! Good location for getting anywhere in Rotterdam as well. Remarkably quiet considering it is right behind Niewe Binnenweg and the bars there. But the memory that will stay with me is the cigar smoke smell.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Breitner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breitner

Address: Breitnerstraat 23, Rotterdam 3015 XA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Breitner 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Breitner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breitner Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Breitner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.