We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Precious Hotel In Rotterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Breitner

Hotel Breitner
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Breitner to your Saves list
Hotel Breitner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Breitnerstraat 23, 3015 XA Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Rotterdam
Oranjestad, Aruba
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Precious Hotel In Rotterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I go to The Netherlands once every year and I have stayed in 4 different hotels and this is by far my favorite. It is like a hidden gem in the centre of Rotterdam. Really well located shops, supermarket, public transportation, Rotterdam Centraal and much more is so so close to this hotel. It is located in a really quit street. Breakfast in this hotel is amazing my mom looked forward to it every morning, if my mom needed warm milk they would warm it for her and by the next day the lady would remember and bring it to her. That was amazing. It also has a smoking room during the night. At first we stay in a room where my mom couldn't smoke in, but the we got transferred to a smoking room it was the last room on the top floor with a balcony. it was amazing. I loved this hotel so much and we will be staying here again as soon as I go again to The Netherlands. I really recommend it.

We stayed here in September 2013. I an't believe it took me so long to review this hotel.

Room Tip: If your a smoker make sure you ask for a smoking room, you will really like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    30
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
13
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Excellent location, very friendly staffs, clear, hygienic, with parking, slient area, budget.
You can walk everywhere; breakfast is very satisfactory; you can sleep very well; one of the cheapest hotels in Rotterdam; very safe area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights, the rooms are typical European style but had everything you needed.
Staff extremely Helpful and friendly.
Location could note be better, for the shopper just down the street from the major shopping hub, around the corner to museums, and easy walking distance to trains and the river.
After, a rainy day out and not wanting to venture out again, had a relaxing drink in front of there fireplace and ordered in dinner through there menu and the staff set up up for dinner in their breakfast area. Pleasantly surprised upon check out how reasonable eating in and drinks were, and we should of done it more often!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camino, California, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We used the Hotel Breitner as a stepping-off spot for a two-night stay to see Amsterdam, but I came away thinking that Rotterdam is a worthy, even superior, destination in its own right. For less than half of what we would pay at a budget American hotel, we got a beautiful, charming, old -style European boutique hotel with gracious service and a secure individual garage for our car. The hotel is a ten minute walk down a beautiful canal street with cafés and shops to the one hour train ride to Amsterdam. Rotterdam is Amsterdam without the grime, grit, grass and Van Goughs. The area is vibrant with young people on bicycles, yet quiet tree-lines streets that were very serene and well-tended. I can't say enough about the friendly service at the hotel, in particular Will, who helped with maps, assisted in picking out a cheap single-malt Scotch from their collection of over 150, and was always personable with a greeting when we returned from a jaunt. In fact, everyone was friendly, warm, helpful. The rooms are clean, warm, old-fashioned. If I had one negative in this glowing account, it would be with the headboard that kept me from being able to sit upright in the bed. For my money, this hotel is the best value we have found in Europe. I only wish there were more Breitners, more Wills, and more breakfast buffets like theirs. Included in the spread are espressos and eggs made to order, a light and airy atrium in which to eat, and every breakfast option imaginable, from bacon and eggs to yogurt to cereal.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We faced a small courtyard in the back. But the street side was also oddly qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a centrally located small hotel that is comfortable and relatively priced. The rooms are clean and tidy and the staff very helpful. There is secure parking alongside the hotel which is also very good for the centre of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I took a few days off after a business trip to Gemany and came to explore the Netheralnds. I booked this hotel after seeing the guest reviews. This place is the best kept secret in Rotterdam, perfect location, central, you can walk to all the sight seeing places, clean, comfortable, friendly and helpufull staff. A+

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were very happy. The room was clean and although not huge, there was enough space. The staff on the front desk were always helpful. Breakfast was included in our bargain price for the room and again the staff were always friendly and efficient. A lovely surprise was the meal in the restaurant in the evening. It was a typical Dutch meal and the chef aimed to please and prepared a special desert for us. We definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Breitner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breitner

Address: Breitnerstraat 23, 3015 XA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Breitner 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Breitner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breitner Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Breitner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.