We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Breitner

Save Saved
You added Hotel Breitner to your Saves list
Hotel Breitner
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Breitner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Breitnerstraat 23, 3015 XA Rotterdam, The Netherlands (Oude Westen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Utila, Honduras
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

the breitner has a great central location but its on a nice quiet street. small, simple but clean rooms, friendly staff on duty 24 hours and a decent breakfast was included. i spent 5 nights and i would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
12
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is located right in the city center close to West Blaak. The staff is very friendly and service minded, They give a lot of information on request and one feels very welcome at this place. The rooms are good and clean and there is enough space. The bathrooms are fine and functional, no complaints. The beds sleep fine and there is no noise from outside. The breakfast is very nice and eggs are made on request. This hotel provides excellent value for money and is highly recommendable.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated in a quiet street so all rooms are probably fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Breitner is about 10 mins walk from the centre of Rotterdam, good if you are going to the IFFR!
It offers single rooms, which have a single bed in them which is unusual but it was cost effective and all that I needed. The breakfast is very good and staff all friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a very good family run hotel with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble.Breakfast was good, cereals, juice tea and coffee together with bacon, sausage and scrambled egg.If you required soft boiled or fried eggs, you only had to ask. They have a very inviting fire in bar area which made it very cosy.
The only downside was the size of the single bedroom-very, very small.En suite facilities were ok, shower good.
Would certainly stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August of 2012 and enjoyed it. We are medium budget travellers. We stayed with our 10 year old son and 8 month old daughter and brought our own sleeping arrangements for her. The front desk staff were amazingly friendly and very helpful to us throughout and the morning breakfast was fabulous...better than most of the B&Bs at which we've stayed.
The breakfast staff were terrific as well and were happy to cook our eggs however we wanted them.
The location is just a short walk from the shopping area and nearby the architectural museum. Grocery store around the corner was handy for us.
The room was simple but totally fine. A drop down bed for our son and floor space for the baby. The only downfall was the thinness of the walls. We we're woken up both mornings by our neighbour's alarm clock...apparently it couldn't wake them up though. The staff called them to turn it off and all was fine.
On a budget, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demorest, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

this hotel is a hidden GEM. It's located on a quiet street withing easy walking distance to the city and harbour front. We chose to rent the private garage at the cost of euro 15 per day and it's well worth it, street parking is a hastle in Rotterdam. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and welcoming to our English language, no problem, everyone speaks English. Our room was a nice size with two comfortable chairs with a table so you don't have to sit on the bed all the time. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large with a tub/shower. If you are looking for new and modern this isn't the hotel for you, but if you like character and antiques you will love it. The elevator is small but we are always happy not to drag luggage up steps.

Room Tip: We had the upper room with a small balcony that you see in the picture. It's nice to open the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This small typical dutch hotel was really a good surprise: superb located nearby the heart of Rotterdam city & commercial center, in a very quiet position and within a walking distance from the trai station. Rooms are small but with everything you may need, and the breakfast buffet was good with a continental breakfast.
Althought the hotel have an elevator, I don't think it's suitable for big wheelchairs, also because the rooms are not so big. But I've benn there with an infant baby and I had no problem at all.
Free wi-fi for all the guests.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Breitner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breitner

Address: Breitnerstraat 23, 3015 XA Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam > Oude Westen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rotterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Breitner 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Breitner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breitner Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Breitner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.