We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Rotterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Central

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruiskade 12, Rotterdam 3012 EH, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Central Rotterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Grand Central Hotel is central but certainly not grand! The price for this centrally located hotel is fantastic but there is definitely a trade-off of quality for the price. The check-in time was advertised as 2.00pm and I was not able to get into the room until after 3.30pm. Towels were not available until after 5.00pm! The bathroom flooded during showers and water leaked from the hand basin. You get the picture about the state of disrepair... However, the great location and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff were standout features and together with the price you could perhaps forgive the rest. It is a charming, if faded grandeur of a hotel in Rotterdam. Be warned about the shortcomings and you won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    38
    68
    45
    89
See reviews for
13
49
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Restrooms are 50 years old,bugs flying
Loud noise ,alot of drunks and parties
Rooms are outdated ,have that dirty feeling everywhere
Cant relax in this hotel,altough it is cheap considering $55 euros vs $130 euros for a decent one
Just because of the location i was there..... Will never come back.... Yacky place good for drunks and druggies who are regulars out there
Breakfast is good though.... All variaty of food
Just wanted to leave counting days there

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came for 3 nights and got a room on the 3rd floor rear with views of the gray wall, the bathroom had hair of a woman on the floor, hot water arrived and after a few seconds disappeared for a long shower, changed me a room with a balcony and was clean and there were no problems hot water But the room no air-conditioning, no telephone in the room, television in the lobby does not work (the World Cup), a poor breakfast. The only good thing I can say about the hotel very close to the pedestrian

Room Tip: Not this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Before visiting the hotel I had read many negative reviews about it and was prepared for unpleasant visit. That ended up being unnecessary. The bed was comfortable and the room was tidy and peaceful. No signs of bedbugs at all after all the scary comments on the websites. TV was nice and the wifi worked ok.

The staff was really friendly and helpful. When we checked in our room wasn't ready yet so we got complimentary drinks. After that the room was ready in about five minutes.

The hotel has seen its best days for sure but I didn't expect anything fancy for the really cheap prize we got. Location was excellent! Plus, we had many good laughs when entering the hotel and got scared of the loud alarm sound on the outside door! ;) They should do something about that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel fortunately for one night. The hotel is a cheap hotel so I expected a no frills hotel which is what it was. Very out dated furniture, bathroom, etc. The staff were friendly and did allow us to check in early at no extra cost. HOWEVER, a few hours after checking out at the hotel I noticed I had been bitten on my shoulder, I didn't think anything of it. Then a few hours later my legs and back started to itch. Within six hours I had about 8 bites on my body, I was in terrible discomfort. Once back home I had to visit my GP, she confirmed it as bed bugs due to bites in typical lines. After a few days the itching had finally gone but 5 weeks later I still have scars.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I have spent 3 days in the Grand Central Hotel, although the room was quite basic and old fashioned our breakfast was very nice and the price for a triple room was quite attractive.
There was no wifi in the rooms but PCs in the lobby. Great location at the Coolsingel and a walking distance to the Central train station.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

bigger than average room for the price and bathroom bigger than expected. the overall hotel is a little shabby but not delapidated. have stayed here twice now when visiting Rotterdam for concerts and is one of 2 that i will use there - good basic hotel with a good breakfast service and a great location

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Kruiskade 12, Rotterdam 3012 EH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 53 hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Central 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsNL, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.