We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to all the moaners!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Central to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kruiskade 12, 3012 EH Rotterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Rotterdam
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“to all the moaners!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I think all those that gave bad reviews for this place don't get out much!! For 44 quid a night in an inner city hotel with a great breakfast, thats value. Yes the decor has seen better days, the rooms are basic, if you want luxury, go to the hilton over road at 4times the price !! If you want to be near tube, tram, central station, shops, bars and restaurants, stay here,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    34
    80
    48
    91
See reviews for
25
65
32
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Surely this is not a luxurious hotel but Iit is near the Rotterdam central train station and also close to De Doelen center,.a place for meetings and concerts .This hotel is a good place for a short stay offering you the basics

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed there June 24 & 25th 2013 because everywhere else was fully booked.
Grand, thats an understatement, mabye during the war as the place needs a complete overhaul it is run down.
Rooms are basic, supplied towels are not fit for being used as dusters.
The opposite nightclubs are noisy and you need earplugs for a sleep, and the ongoing building works nearby is like living in a worksite.
Windows in my room on the 4th floor had broken catches and no safety latches, need replacing and very old and would notg pass any building regulations. Small children would need supervised!

Avoid at all cost unless you are desperate and dont fancy sleeping in your car or alleyway.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all cost, Faulty Towers is a 5 star compared to this shambles
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was the most disappointing hotel I have ever booked [with Expedia]. The room smelled bad, was uncomfortable, had no phone, no hair dryer, no telephone, no soap, etc. Although I fully anticipated that the hot water would run out during my shower - at one point the WATER stopped altogether - no water at all! I understand that this is a low-cost hotel and that expectations should be lowered accordingly, but in this case this was not even closely worth the low cost. Incidentally, I attempted to enter this review on the Expedia site, but they asked that I re-write it for them to post my review - which I did not. Great location though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
692 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good location,at 10 minutes walking to Rotterdam Centraal train station,5 minutes walking to "Stadhuis" metro station.
Plenty or restaurants,bars,clubs and shops in the area.
The room was OK,not very big,clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This Hotel is old and quirky. It is reasonably priced and located in an ideal place in Rotterdam. The rooms are pretty basic but spotless and comfortable. Staff extremely polite and very helpful. Breakfast - absolutely fantastic. Never seen so much variety of food. All fresh, healthy and beautifully presented. One of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Well done Grand Central Hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Absolutely awful. The rooms are dirty, smelly and I genuinely feared for my property. The bathroom was disgusting. I booked for three nights and payment was in advance with no refunds. No wonder! I had the worse night ever with some kind of "party" going on outside my door. The next day, I took my stuff and checked into a different hotel. A waste of money, but I couldn't bare spending another moment in that place.

Room Tip: Just don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotterdam hotels
Cool
easyHotel Rotterdam City Centre
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#4 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
citizenM Rotterdam
citizenM Rotterdam
#2 of 54 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Atlanta Rotterdam
#22 of 54 in Rotterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Cool
The Manhattan Hotel Rotterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Central

Address: Kruiskade 12, 3012 EH Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Rotterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Rotterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Central 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Budget Places, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rotterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.